Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.4 out of 5 stars
9
2.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2009
This is a photocopy or similar reproduction, and the quality of the reproduction is so bad that not only the illustrations are so dark as to be sometimes almost uniformly black, but the text is frequently unreadable as well. Waste of money.

Please note that these comments refer to the 2008 Sims Press edition, ISBN 144375532X. I have no idea what the quality of other editions might be.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
"The Art and Craft of Garden Making" is an interesting read, I can't fault the authors content. No issues with the book there.

However, the book, in this format by Forgotten Books, is a photocopy of a copy which has at some point been housed in the University of California library. The book claims to have been "digitally remastered", but the print is poor quality, small and on some pages nearly impossible to read.

I certainly wouldn't recommend this Forgotten Books publication to anyone who doesn't have the very best of eye sight.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
I agree with other reviewers that the quality of these 'digital' print-on-demand-type titles is pretty poor. The question is this. Do you want to pay upwards of £150 for an original edition of 'The Art & Craft . . ' or settle for something undoubtedly inferior, but evidently cheaper. The choice is yours . . .
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2009
Apparently a photocopy of another edition the text is so poorly reproduced it is almost unreadable and the illustrations are so black you can barely make out what they show. An expensive mistake, don't waste your money.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
A book about the philosophy behind the work of the British landscape architect Thomas H Manson, by the man himself. Great as a historic reference book for landscape architecture, quite Edwardian in it's language though (it is a period work, that said). The illustrations come out quite well on the eBook version (which is sometimes a problem with paper facsimiles of this particular book). Mawson was exacting in his craftsmanship and the illustrations really bear this out. There is the odd typo where its been scanned to make it into an eBook, amusing rather than problematic. The same goes for the illustrations, some strange page settings come in wherever an illustration is dropped in. So it's not quite the same as reading from a paper text, but for the money and convenience, an excellent alternative. For my purposes (historical research into Arts and Crafts parterres) it was perfect !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
I found the print hard to read in this reprint. This may have been fine if the illustrations were of a better quality. I bought it because the price was a lot better than an original.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
All as described and interesting reading . Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
Excellent summary of the work of Thomas Mawson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
Very poor quality reprint - disappointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)