Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


on 4 November 2003
This was a enjoyable read from start to finish. If you are just looking for pictures of japanese bodysuits try the authors other book, "bushido legacies of the japanese tattoo" as it contains far more photos than this book. That said this is very well illustrated but has more pictures of wood block prints than tattoos (although it does have some good examples of back pieces etc). Overall I would recommend this book if you want to know a little about the history of the subject matter and if you want to know about the signifigance of the designs themselves.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2010
This book really goes into the stories of Japanese folklore that have made some of the designs we see today in the tattoo world. I'd say that if you want a book just of tattoo's this may not be the one for you, (Bushido: The Legacy of the Japanese Tattoo would be a better choice for tattoo's alone) this book has a lot of written text, rich with the reasons for the images of dragons, tigers, the god of wind, etc. A lot of the images in the book are of Horiyoshi III demons, samurai, gods, to name just a few, which are beautiful black & white detailed images of the subject matter. This would be a real benefit for any tattoo studio as reference to image as well as the story behind a well used motif/design. 5 stars for the blend of tattoo's/drawings/text.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2013
Having had the pleasure to be tattooed by Taki (Horitaka) at the London Tattoo Convention in 2010 and 2011, I can attest to his profound level of knowledge, skill and expertise in the world of Japanese tattooing.

The text is informative and Taki's books are vital sources of research to anyone seriously considering getting a Japanese tattoo.

I collect books on Japanese tattooing and Taki's books were some of the first that I bought. I would highly recommend them.
Based on my knowledge of collecting Japanese Tattoo books for the last seven years, my key observation would be that most tattoo books that are not aimed at professional tattooers contain very limited information on the themes and/or techniques associated with Japanese tattooing. This is not so with this book, where the emphasis is not only on quality traditional hand-tattooing but also the rich history that sits behind it which is a vital point of reference for both professional tattooers and amatuer enthusiasts alike.

A further point that I would like to make is that this book provides an excellent example of just how good tattooing can be as an artform. It pains me to see some of the quality of artwork out there sometimes and I cannot stress the importance of good research when getting one done. Even at triple the RRP I would still highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2010
I bought several similar books prior to this one and this is by far the best of its type. Not just pictures of interesting tattoos but a lot of history of the images and the artists. The story behind the drawing behind the tattoo. This book has ignited my interest in Japanese paintings as well as reconfirming my interest in Japanese tattoos. Worth every penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2014
A lovely book with beautiful images of original Ukiyo-e and the tattoos inspired from them. Great on ukiyo-e history and facts and some nice little details and background on respected tattoo artists.
I bought this as a reference book for my tattoo work for a better understanding in the Japanese ukiyo-e style tattooing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2012
Great book about Ukiyo-e in tattoos, the quality of the pictures are of great quality and the texts make a good scope of all Ukiyo-e history in japanese tattoos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2009
Excellent book of Japanese tattoo designs with well presented illustrations.
Essential for any traditional tattoo fans collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2014
could have done with more photos but still a great book, especially if you're researching a full body design
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2014
really descriptive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)