Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
394
4.7 out of 5 stars
Sense and Sensibility (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1995] [Region Free]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 January 2014
Every playback refreshes the sense and sensibility we may lose on the way. It's definitely worth having in your collection let alone seeing every now and then.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Superb adaption with a world class cast that catches the nuances of the book and society. Emma THompson, ate Winslett and Hughe Grant head a faultless cast..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
Ang Lee's production of Jane Austen's classic masterpiece is almost perfect. The direction is flawless, the acting world class and the costume design just glorious.

So why 4 stars instead of 5? Unfortunately, the actors and actresses are TOO old. These characters are supposed to be at least 10-15 years younger than Emma Thompson and Hugh Grant. I am able to suspend my disbelief and all that, but if it was made with actors/actresses who were the actual age ranges of the characters, I would not have hesitated to give it 5 stars plus +++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
I love this movie, in fact I haven't stopped watching it. I'm a fan of Alan Rickman and his potrayal of Colonel Brandon was as real as I could ever imagine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
I loved the film on DVD and decided to upgrade to Blueray. But TWICE Amazon have sent me a foreign language version of the Blueray. You need to negotiate through a menu written in a foreign language, starting from a Yes/No option when the disk starts playing. Alas the 'free' UV version is accessible via a coupon which expired on 15th April 2015. So I can't watch the film via my iPad either!! I expect better from Amazon, and will now try to source this from a retailer who supplies an English language version!
review image
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
A good film to have in a DVD library. Required viewing at least once a year. A lovely film, well adapted from the book with an excellent cast and settings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
Love Jane Austin - beautiful film with great cast. Nice length movie for when you need Jane Austin quick fix rather than the lengthy BBC adaptations
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
I love this movie. It is an excellent adaptation of the book (better than the book really, as the book is a little bit slow). You couldn't ask for a better cast or more interesting characters. It's very romantic and feel good - perfect for a night in with your boy/girl friend. Don't be afraid to laugh either - Austen's excellent sense of humour shines through in this one.

If you do enjoy this, I also strongly recommend the recent remake of Pride and Prejudice, which is actually my favourite. Happy watching!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2012
Great cast and beautifully performed by everyone - loved every minute of it. Never tire of watching this dvd over and over gain Highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
Brilliant, could watch over and over again, never fed up watching it.

Very Good, vlaue for money. Can be watched with adults and with children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)