Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Best of 2017 Shop now Shop now



on 4 October 2016
Fab if you love Kung Fu films you will love it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2015
Fist full of yen sketch was very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2009
I went to see to see this film when I was still at school (no, I wasn't 18 but things seemed easier then) and have got to say I missed half of it because I was laughing so much. It preceded Airplane and never, in my opinion, got the credit it deserved. How pleased was I when I found it again on Amazon and, although it looks a little dated now, still had me in hysterics.

The film is a series of sketches with a loose TV/Film motif with silly humour and hidden gags being the order of the day. I warn you, "A Fistful of Yen" will ruin Bruce Lee films for you forever (but in a good way).
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2017
One of the funniest films ever made...
Film at eleven...😁😂😁
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2009
Okay so I'm old enough to have seen this at the cinema when it was first released, but on DVD I can watch it on my own sofa. As funny as I remember, and it brought back a whole raft of other 70's memories as well. Top Film
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2013
On July 4, 2011 Arrow Video in the United Kingdom released a two-disc special edition DVD, with the following special features:
- Feature presented in widescreen 1.85:1 and full-frame 1.33:1
- Original mono audio
- The audio recollections of director John Landis; writers Jerry Zucker, David Zucker, Jim Abrahams; and producer Robert K. Weiss
- A conversation with David and Jerry Zucker: A feature length interview with the co-creators of The Kentucky Fried Movie, Airplane! and The Naked Gun about their lives and career, from growing up and starting out in show business to their comedy influences and spoofing Midnight Cowboy
- Jerry Zucker's on-set home video shot during the making of the movie
- Behind-the-scenes photo gallery
- Original trailer
- Four-panel reversible sleeve with original and newly commissioned artwork
- Double-sided fold-out artwork poster
- Collector's booklet featuring brand new writing on director John Landis by critic and author Calum Waddell
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2010
I too must admit to seeing this at the Cinema, and also have a copy on VHS. Have just purchased this because for some strange reason whilst driving into work I started to think about "A Fistful of Yen" and started to laugh (a lot). Had to purchase it and yes it was still as funny as i recall, possibly even more so. Brilliant!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2017
Sometimes going in to a film completely cold is a great thing because when the opening line is a newsreader informing you that “The popcorn you’re eating has been 'wazzed' in. Film at 11.” it grabs you by the cojones and tells you everything you need to know about the movie. Despite an unorthodox format, it allows the film the freedom to deliver a range of brilliant genre parodies: Women in Prison, Blaxploitation, Disaster Movies, Sex Ed, Russ Meyer, and a 30-minute mini-film “A Fistful of Yen”, which perfectly mocks everything about 70s Kung Fu films, specifically Enter the Dragon – everything is 100%, from the editing and SFX down to the cheesy synths.

Written by the Zucker brothers, this has their trademark ‘joke joke joke joke joke’ style, so that even when some miss the mark, the next laugh isn’t far off. The only downside is that because there’s so much going on over so many sketches and ideas, you don’t always get enough time with the funniest characters: Wally and Beave in court were hands-down my favourite.

While some comedies are era-specific, relying on the culture and news stories of their time – this film was made in 1977 and is easily one of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen. Kentucky Fried Movie is the film that kick-started the careers of the Zucker brothers and John Landis – so if you like their comedies, there’s absolutely no doubt that you’ll love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2014
John Landis (Animal House, The Blues Brothers, Trading Places) directs and Jim Abrahams, Jerry Zucker, David Zucker (Airplane!, Naked Gun) writes one of the funniest films of the seventies. Essentially a series of sketches lampooning movies, television, advertising and the news it also includes a mini feature (A Fistful of Yen).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)