Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
85
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£105.04+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2013
A quick review to confirm that this Region 2 German Blu Ray DOES contain in the special features section - the english spoken version of this film (Nosferatu the vampire) besides the German main feature(Werner Herzog shot two versions of ths film one English spoken, the other in German) Picture is stunning and is a superb upgrade from the Anchor Bay DVD version. Only the German spoken version comes in a 5.1 surrond mix.
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2002
It's a very good movie (it's simply Herzog), but if you look for a horror movie and only a horror movie you may be very dissapointed. It is not a horror movie, this is more than just a movie of some well defined kind. This may be like some variations on "Heart of Glass", but in a different costume. This is not a movie for closed-minded horror consumers. This is Herzog with all his patience, time he takes, hipnotic visions he shows and the same madness or determination in Kinski's eyes. Great photos and unique atmosphere - flying bats, plague-or-what in the town, overall atmosphere of madness, insane dance at the end. Great movie, deep like Herzog and Kinski and yet simply horrifyng like Dracula. I'm not dissapointed with Herzog one more time.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
This german disc of the remake of the silent classic comes to blu-ray.This is one of the very best versions of DRACULA you will see with KLAUS KINSKI role as the count with his bat like make up no man in cape here.The shots with the count and the rats are very well done but to be fair all the shots in the movie are .There have been many erotic shots in many DRACULA movies over the years but the shot in this movie with the girl in bed and the count with his hands all over her has to be one of the best.This disc is the german disc and has good picture and sound and has both the german version with subtitles and the rare dubbed english version.This disc is a must have 10/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
A very classic gothic horror which is, of course a love story. Very atmospheric and stylish: Kind of thing you'd like or not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2016
Imagine if you will that someone has heavily sedated Jess Franco on one of his least enthused days during bram stokers dracula, pointed the camera at the most drab still life of some fruit in a bowl by a dutch painter no one has heard of, drained the vitality out of some decent actors whilst dropping some pasolini rejects amongst the naturalistic mundanity of existence by parachutes made of one hundred percent school play. Now stand stiffly delivering lines waiting for the editors eyes to stop glazing over as he or she, or indeed it, picks scabs of paint from the underside of a basin of dank brackish water in slo-mo. Carefully, or imperiously [tediously], tip-toe up to any plot point in the leaden narrative and sink your pointy ratty mouse-chops into the firm flesh of mr and mrs boredom buttocks.

Jean Rollin, Jess Franco et al, have the poetic wherewithall to carry this potentially solemn funerary pace off, more often than not. Indeed, most drunk teenagers with a phone could make a superior short film than this mire of crapulence. If the intent was to see how long it takes for Kinski to skitter up to a piece of cheese then this failed as a film, wherein space is filled with time and time filled with uh, an abyss. Makes for some good still shots, but as for a film of feature length this is not unlike being trapped in a broken lift with someone who has taken fifty valium & is even now, talking themselves to sleep before your very eyes. Herzog tries too hard to be gloom ridden in every single frame for me to give the proverbial toss when the credits roll. Apparently it loses a lot in translation, when not viewed as the fluent german version. Don't care anymore. This has drained me not only of the will to live, the will to power, but the will to maintain a blood flow through my heart.

Somewhere in a faustian heaven, Murnau must be laughing his proverbial jiggly bits off. Sinister this is not. A new genre, goth-trite.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
thank you...early horror film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 March 2017
The story of Dracula is well known and the film sticks to it well enough for any review not to need to go into it. What is interesting is how each film version portrays it.

The first thing that struck me about this one is that like many costume dramas it instantly says more about the period it was made than the one it was set in. This screams 1970s from the word go and style wise reminded me of Hammer Horror. Some of the camera work at the start was also a bit Acorn Antiques - the best example being just before Jonathan leaves for Transylvania when half the shot is taken up by the huge rump of his horse. Most of the time the acting is as wooden as a big wooden stake dipped in bright red paint (there's one of those too). The characters say what they are thinking out loud just to explain what is happening. I giggled a lot when it wasn't supposed to be funny.

What I was impressed with, as the film progressed, was that after the initial wobbles, the camera work really improves. The locations and interiors feel real rather than studio set. It uses imagery and lighting to great effect to portray the poignant side of the story which is about sacrifice for love. There is also an argument for saying it goes against the trend of the times by having the passive seeming woman in peril, Lucy make a rather noble sacrifice for her husband.

If half stars were an option I would give this film three and a half, but have rounded to four as the great visuals outweigh the staginess of the acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Where are the promised subtitles? It states on the DVD cover and in the blurb on site that it has optional English subtitles but there was no option on the film to have them. The actors are all speaking English with very heavy foreign accents so it is hard to follow. I even tried using the subtitle button on my handset but to no avail. I have seen half the film and so far I am enjoying it but the lack of subtitles is making it a bit difficult. The scenery is very good; like it really is filmed in Transylvania, but it's strange as instead of the beginning being set in England where Jonathan Harker hails from it appears to be somewhere with canals (Holland?) and he rides his horse to Dracula's castle......And they have changed the characters from those in the original book. Instead of Jonathan being married to Mina in this film he is married to her friend Lucy!! I am enjoying watching it though. I cant wait to see the rest of the film. Klaus K is very good as the vampire, he is based on the original silent film character i.e. bald with two front fangs and long claws (like a rat).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Pretty awful film really not a patch on the original.This film in my view is atmosphere free which compared to the Shreck film full of atmosphere puts them at opposing ends of the scale.Go for Shreck every time don't bother with the Kinski version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2003
When i saw this movie for the first time I was stunned...although Werner Herzog is one of my favourite directors I was sceptical at first about Nosferatu because i was afraid that it will be much weaker than his predecessor....I couldn't be more wrong with this assumption...the movie is excellent.....there never was any vampire movie that even tried to give us such a strong portrait (both physically and psychicaly) of a creature that continued to live through ages..." Can You Imagine enduring centuries....experiencing the same futility every day" with this sentence Nosferatu explains the whole horror of his existence...and you feel some sort of sorrow for him even though you know that he is a monster ho pray on human blood to live.....unforgettable!. Film is beautifully shot by old Herzog's associate Jorg Schmidt-Reitwein and the music is excellently chosen to strenghten the whole atmosphere....pieces from Wagner's Das Rheingold are included here....and the cast is perfectly chosen, especially Kinski in the title role....possibly one of the best vampire movie among such gems as Carl Theodor Dreier's Vampyr, or Murnau's original Nosferatu
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse