Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2017
Arguably THE iconic Classic Western role, which also made Clint Eastwood a - really - household star. He was paid $250K, The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly described three bums who ambled around the American Civil War looking for money. It was the third of a planned - and very successful - trilogy. Eastwood was paid £250K and 10% of the profits (big money for a film of this nature in the late 1960s). That was more than the entire budget for a previous previous film in the Trilogy, "A Fistful of Dollars". As a final sweetener he was also offered a brand new Ferrari - surprise, he took the job :)

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly describes three guys running around trying to grab a stack of lost gold - creating mayhem along the way; all in the middle of the American Civil War. Eastwood hates smoking, but he had to for this one as the thin cigars theatrically played into the role and character, were part of the job. On more than one re-shoot he was heard to mutter "you better get this Re-Take, else I will throw up before the next one".

This turned out to be one of the iconic Westerns of All Time, and is still viewed as "current" in its look and feel even today, 50 years later. Be terribly non-PC, get yourself a tin of thin cigars, a quality bottle of Bourbon, a box of red tip swan vesta's to light with the finger flick, settle down and watch one of THE Iconic Movies in Cinema History.

Wonderful Stuff ..... :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
Classic film loved by the friend for whom I bought it as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
My favour it film.the quality is mint love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Except the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
A weak point for me to agree to pay £7.99 buy once that was over.. film was classic Clint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Quick and good quility.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Bought for my dad as he is mad when it comes to watching cowboy films. Seemed good quality and were delivered very quickley
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2004
DON'T FIX WHAT ISN'T BROKEN!
From the start let me say I love this filmbut sadly the new scenes are quite frankly laughable. The overdubbing oftheir own parts from the remaining living actors do not work.
There is no other way to put it. Do not get me wrong this film has to bemy all time favourite but the additional scenes turn it now into acomplete joke.
Clint Eastwood overdubbing his own deleted Italian release scenes soundsnothing like himself from 1966, Eli Wallach (The Ugly) is a croaky old manand struggles to have the same mischevious chuckle to his voice from theoriginal film.
This is not a big let down, however the suprising bonusand a factor which works extremely well is Lee Van Cleef's newly restoredparts, which do work and his voice is ALMOST spot on. This is suprisingbecause he died in 1989, 13 years before he was required to voice over hisItalian dubbed scenes. The actor who did his part was pretty much spot onmore so then Clint's or Eli's. I am not blaming Clint or Eli but the truthis and the studio should have realised this that a sound a like actorwould have been much much better. There voices after nearly 40 years havechanged to much. What we end up with on the extra scenes is basicallyClint Eastwood doing a naff Clint Eastwood impression. I so wanted thiselement to work but I am afraid it does not. To cap it all the extrascenes do not 'blend' in with the rest of the film.It switches from monoto stereo so noticably.
Unfortunately it gets worse.
The studio that remastered the film decided to upgrade the soundtrack.This led to certain limitations, i.e the original sound effects (gunshots)were mixed on the same track as the music. Obviously they have to keep themusic so they had to re-do the sound effects. Big Big mistake, what we endup with now is a tinny "blat" for ALL the gun shots in the film. In myopinion ruining the impact of certain key scenes.
There is an interesting additional scene involving Tuco's meeting with thethree bandits who sneak up to Blondies room but on reflection you can seewhy the director Sergio Leone had it cut to the editing room floor.
Thecommentary is painfull, it is by a film critic who spends ages getting tothe point about a certain scene which has by then been and gone and hespends most of his time saying "ermmm" or/and "errrrr" What he doeseventually come up with is fairly interesting but takes such afrustratingly long time about it.
The extras basically skip over the film and it's content pretty quickly,having said that I was amazed at how unrecognizable Eli Wallach is now inthe interviews, which was kind of sad.
All in all I think the film should have been left alone, I am so glad Ikept my original copy on DVD but I do feel in some way that it is a bonusto have the special edition just to throw new light on one of the bestfilms ever made.
Incidentally if you ever wondered where the composer (Ennio Morricone) gotthe idea for the main sound effect in the theme tune. In other words the'Ahheeahheeahhh'. What is the first noise you hear in the film after themain opening credits?
Thats right a coyote.
Little snippits of information like that make this DVD fairlyworthwhile.
As a bonus I hate DVD's with hidden extras or 'Easter Eggs' as they liketo call them. With this one they are not hard to find and when you do findthem they are certainly not worth bothering with.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)