Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars

on 29 August 2017
Excellent!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2007
A clearly translated book which considers the concept of No-Mind in relation to martial arts - I recommend checking out the the reviews on the US amazon site for a comprehensive overview.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
Some reviews for the book include:

"A masterful retelling of one of the greatest stories in Japanese culture. An engrossing, engaging, emotional and unforgettable epic."
- Jonathan Ross, BBC television presenter

"The 47 Ronin is a dignified telling of a dignified story. It's violent when it needs to be, precise and calm when it's called for and never once loses focus. This is a tightly focused, perfectly pitched retelling of the story and a perfect entry point for anyone coming to the story for the first time. The Keanu Reeves version may have all the spectacle, but this version has all the heart."
- Alasdair Stuart, Bleeding Cool.com

"This is a successful attempt to accurately depict a legendary historical event. Someone as fascinated by Japanese culture as I am will love this graphic novel for that fact, but anyone expecting it to be similar to the upcoming movie where Keanu Reeves literally sword fights with dragons will be seriously disappointed.

The beautiful artwork and sparse text made it a fast read and gave the revenge tale an ethereal feel, and while I would have liked to see the revenge plot fleshed out in greater detail, I appreciate that may not have been possible given how closely this story seems to be taken from historical record."
-Eric, GoodReads

"If you enjoy works like Lone Wolf and Cub, you will probably enjoy this graphic novel as well.
I'd give it four out of five stars." - Angel Rivera, Librarian.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
Some reviews:

“This poetic book immediately stands out as the best of Sean Michael Wilson's three graphic novel adaptations of classical works of Japanese philosophy. As a book of philosophy, it’s fascinating; a dreamlike exploration of consciousness, life, and death. Michiru Morikawa's artwork is the perfect match for the text, her eerie, detailed illustrations—especially the lovely renderings of various animals—perfectly fitting the poetic feel. Recommended.”
-Jason Thompson, Otaku USA magazine

"A beautiful transformation of martial arts philosophy as told through fairy tales. A recommended read, whether this form or the more standard text, for students of martial arts as a whole."
- Tegna, Good Reads reviewer

"I must say, this is off the charts.....but only if you don't mind stopping to think in between pages....a lot! Here is the map that worked for me. Read and/or listen to a regular version of the Book of 5 Rings first. THEN.....and only then,wait a day or 2 if you want and then dip into Sean's illustrated version so you can immediately pick up all the nuances in facial expressions done so well by the illustrator Chie Kutsuwada. Dont be fooled thinking because this is in comic book "form"...its just a comic book. Big mistake. "
- Marc, Amazon review

"I have to say that by far this is one of my favorite books. The beautiful art and ease of reading this graphic novel version allows for it to be accessible to many more people. Since buying my first copy I have had to buy a subsequent 7 or 8 because I keep giving it away to other people. It really is that good. Some of the concepts in it may be difficult for some people to grasp, but if you sit with it long enough, they are phenomenal insights on the nature of life, let alone martial arts." - Oscar C Perez, Phd.

“Wilson and Morikawa capture all the wisdom and beauty of these original texts and enhance them with the visual vitality and playful charms of modern manga. Their faithful retellings of these allegorical fables and philosophical reflections prove how timeless and rewarding they truly are.”
- Paul Gravett, editor of 1001 Comics You Must Read before You Die
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
great stuff more graphic novels like this . good art and depth . there are many more old school stories like this that can be revised for the newer generation from the medium of narrative illustration .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
It took me along time to read it, but it gives a different perspective on the Martial Arts and Life. Not for the beginner!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
a very enjoyable read and exactly what i was looking and hoping for.

I would recommend this to others a good price too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
I liked this book because it gives us a sight of the inner meanning and the cultural background of the japanese martials arts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2016
not earth-shattering, but a good solid re-telling of the famous story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Read this before you read 47 Ronin (or before you watch the movie)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)