Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
30
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2004
This is probably not a book for the absolute beginner, but I have only been studying Japanese for 4 months and this is now one of my favourite texts. In my class we are often asked “what particle goes here?” by our teacher. 9 times out of 10 we are guessing, Ni being the most common choice :p
This was my motivation to buy this book
This book is quite compact, a little smaller than A5. I have taken to carrying this around in my bag, and pulling it out for the occasional read. It does seem a little “geeky” to be reading a book about such a specific thing when I am still really just a beginner myself, but if you can get up the courage to buy it you wont regret it
WA for example (first in the book) is explained over the course of 3 pages. Presenting 5 ways in which the particle can be used within sentences, with 2 or 3 examples for each usage. Each example is presented in kana/kanji, romanji and English. So theres little need to refer to other texts whilst trying to comprehend the examples. As such, this makes the book very easy to read and not “heavy” at all, despite the subject matter
0Comment| 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2009
From what I have read so far it seems like this is a great book.

The information is well structured (i.e. shows the more common particles/uses first and then the less common ones), it provides a brief, but clarifying, description of each particle, followed by examples presented in kana, kanji and roma-ji, aside from the english translation.

It also makes reference to particles which are used together and explanations on why this happens on some situations.

Overall a great, lightweight book and a must have especially if you are a serious student of Japanese.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2009
I bought this book and thought i'd find explanations for when to use wa, ga and wo but i found so much more! its filled with really good explanations which are really easy to understand! now that i have this book i dont know how i could even think of learning japanese without it!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2012
The basic purpose of the book is to provide detailed descriptions of 53 noun particles and 16 sentence particles, and it does a very good job of that: each particle is accompanied by several example sentences ('ni' even got 44 of them), both in romaji and kana/kanji. But that's not all! Since these sentences are intended to demonstrate the use of particles, they are high on kana and low on kanji, and I found them a pleasant way to get more acquainted with both, especially since the romaji is right below.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
I've got the older version of the edition but I expect there are rather minor changes. This book is a very good reference source for Japanese particles or can be used just to familiarise yourself if you are starting out. It gives good definitions of what each particle is for and examples in both formal and informal tenses. I would recommend this to late-beginner or intermediate stage learners.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
This is a good book however the explanations are a bit of a grind though hence 4 stars only! :) "Indicates a muted question in cases when there is information shared with an interlocutor that the speaker is trying to recall" Really? Come on! Hehe! BUT get past that and this book is definitely one to dip into in small doses... or read if you have a bout of insomnia (joke!) However for explaining particle use it is very useful none the less. I study with iKnow so I dig this book out when learning their sentences in order to try and understand how the particles are being used in the sentence. This is definitely one book that has to be in the learning cabinet (alongside "Barrons Japanese Grammar" and "Japanese Core Words and Phrases: Things you can't find in a dictionary" :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
This book is probably the best for explaining particles and their variety of uses, as well as providing example sentences and English translations. The book also makes note of areas where a particle can be substituted, such as ほどand ぐらい,or ばかりandだけ. It also very nicely explains the different nuances they carry depending on which particle is used, the degree of emphasis, and whether it's more written or spoken, male or female speech etc. This book also explains the differences between はandが very well, much better than most jlpt textbooks. T

However, although it includes the most important particles, it doesn't really touch to heavily on particle combinations, such as にも、でも ではetc. But it's a great reference book to complement your study, especially at beginner and intermediate level.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
This is the book I was looking for to help with my grammar. I am an upper beginner and have a decent grasp of the language, but I often come across particles that change the meaning in a way I am not familar with. I felt this book would be a great way to get some more basics down by learning more rules. There is a lot of content here, it's not just your bog standard particles such as に、と、が etc, but also connecting 'words' such as ばかり、ところで、だけ。しか etc. Very useful to have it all in one place to look at when you forget how the meanings change when reading these words. It goes into just about every way to use each with example sentences too - very useful for trying to nail the differences between は and が, or に and で.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
Very in depth collection of the japanese particles detailed. No worry if the kana alphabet or kanji aren't down, as the japanese is translated into romaji as well as the english below the sentences. Really a reference book to dip in and out of-sometimes it can be pretty intense- but overall very useful and crucial for anyone dedicated to learning the japanese language.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
An essential book for any Japanese learner. The reviews I read before purchase were all glowing and now that I have the book, it's clear that they were all correct. This book is a goldmine of useful information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse