Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2009
This book is a must for anyone fascinated by the history of Berlin around the time of the 2nd World War who is planning on visiting and exploring the city. Easy to follow with clear maps and good information about where places are, their history and significance, when they are open, nearest station / underground stop etc. Whilst the face of Berlin has changed dramatically over the last few decades this book will show you where places were, what still stands today and what can still can be seen. Along with a modern guide to the city this will prove to be a worthwhile companion.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
I actually found this guide to be very interesting. I didn't know that the Holocaust Memorial was built above Goebbels' bunker (and that there was a possibility to incorporate it in the museum!) or that there is a "Swastika Forest" on the outskirts of Berlin! (This entry made me laugh out loud!) But these are just a two of the many interesting tidbits of history and information that this guide presents. It is also an excellent guide for pointing out the major Third Reich sites across Berlin and its surroundings. The maps are decent and the background information excellent. Many of the sites I didn't know about, although I lived in Berlin for 7 years and have visited many times besides that. It is, of course, slightly outdated as it was printed in 2006, but it is worth getting anyway because most of the sites remain the same. I can't wait to use it on my next trip! Definitely would recommend.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
Am planning a trip to Berlin this summer and wanted a specific guide to the WW2 sites and hit the jackpot with this well researched and easy to read book. Contains enough detail to enable you to plan a comprehensive route through the city and the surrounding area, with excellent references maps to support the text. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
This is very thorough, useful and graphically clear, and is an essential historical companion for any short break in Berlin.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
I bought this book for a recent holiday/research trip to Berlin. My family and I found it both extremely interesting and useful. The maps and their corresponding numbered locations are easy to find and the information provided really helped. I would definitely recommend this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Excellent handbook to discover the Berlin of the pre war years. Portable and informative to enable the reader to view what remains of the Third Reich.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
If you are a fan of history and are planning a visit and don't want to do guided tours, you have to invest in this. I used this and it's partner and planned our whole 4 day trip with it. The maps are amazing, it's easy to navigate, and when you are standing besides the places that are in this book, knowing what went on, it brings history alive. Love it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Took this to Berlin and found it very useful. The maps were clear and easy to orientate. For the non-expert, this was excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
As I is very fond of history and special the 2 world war I found this book very good and helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)