Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
19
Malta & Gozo 235 GPS kompass (Aqua3 Kompass)
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 September 2011
This map comes in a plastic wallet with a dual language tourist guide booklet. The booklet is in German and Italian so apart from the pictures is of limitare ed value if you do not happen to read either language. The map, however, carries a legend in German, English, Italian and French and carries a gazetter of road names.

The map is a clear topographic map at a scale of 1:25000 and cover all the islands (Malta, Gozo, Comino) at the same scale. The topographic detail is indicated by 10m contours and there is some hill shading with the nominal sun from the north east. As a result one gets a good appreciation of the shape of the land. All the motoring and minor roads (road numbers are given) and a large number of paths and tracks are indicated. In addition to which there are a number of walking routes outlined in red. Various sites of tourist interest (views, antiquities, fortifications, nature reserves etc.) are indicated as also are bus routes. However as the Maltese bus system was thoroughly revised in July 2011, after this map was published, one would be advised to acquire more up to date information. A couple of detailed insets of Valetta, Mdina and Victoria afford are useful but more detailed street maps (available on the islands) should be consulted for town walks.

The German billing of this map describes it as a walking, tourist and road map, a tall order but unusually for a jack of all trades this map delivers on all levels. It is is probably the most detailed map for walking of Malta available from a commercial publisher and is only bettered by the MPA government topographic maps that are both expensive and awkward to acquire. In summary this is the map I shall be taking with me on my future visits to Malta.
22 Comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2016
Very pleased with this map. It is easy to follow and very detailed. Because of this map we found a Neolithic monument inside a hotel (the New Dolman in Qawra) that we just happened to be passing, for example. The map was in constant use on both Malta and Gozo and made a huge difference to just relying on the Sat Nav in the hire car. For example planning a route that took in several different sights, or spotting something as we drove along and being able to look on the map to see what it was. The hardest thing was getting used to the scale. Malta and Gozo are tiny and it took some adjustment. A distance that looks like it would take half an hour to drive, if you are used to map reading in the UK, was only four or five minutes. We overshot Rabat on day 1 and nearly ended up completely on the other side of the island. The good thing is that turning round and going back only took a few minutes. The only complaint is we set out one day to visit the Multimedia show at Gozo Heritage centre to discover that it has long since shut down, so there may be one or two other out of date details. But again Gozo is so small that we just went somewhere else instead. There's plenty to do and see on both islands. I would also say that if you are visiting the built up areas around Valletta you want to use your Sat Nav. Maltese drivers are famed for their bad road behaviour, which really only shows in this area, and with the poor signage and fast traffic keeping up with map navigation alone is almost impossible. Otherwise this map wins hands down.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2015
Has every road in Malta on it AND actually shows tourist attractions (like mr=egalithic temples and cart tracks) where they are (other maps dont)! If you are going to Malta to get drunk in pacheville and then take the tourist bus round the island you probably dont need this map. But if you are hiring a car you really do need to know where you are - and sat navs are a s bad as most maps. And if you are walking this really is a must as only map at a scale and detail to be useful when you get near anything (like a town or a historic site). Bottom line - best map of Malta you can get.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2017
Very useful and helpful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2017
Excellent map. Accurate and clear. Good quality.

I used it for planning swims, walks and jogs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2017
Excellent map. Found very useful for our winter walks in malta.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2012
Really detailed, and really useful as signposting roads isn't a Maltese speciality. If you're planning on driving yourself around, or walking, then get this map.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2016
Our main guide to Gozo. Allthough primarily a German publication, I found this very little hinderance in using it as a basic map. Plenty of detailled paths for walking, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2014
I spent a long time searching the net for a suitable map of this small island. This one fits my needs perfectly.
Just a pity there is no version of the accompanying handbook in English.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
All Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)