Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
31
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2014
I can't begin to say how much I enjoyed reading this book. I realise that there is now an English version, but my review is based on the original German text (I haven't read the English one, so can't comment on the translation). The author appears to have put an awful lot of time and effort into really capturing the essence of this inherently evil man. So much so, that at some points in the book you find yourself empathising with the former dictator as he tries to find his feet in modern Berlin. An excellently written, funny and at times challenging read, which is very well worth a read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
still reading it, to funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Loved this book, well researched, (almost) believable, but best of all sooooooo amusing. Did Timur Vermes have the use of a time machine ????
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 April 2014
Timur Vermes has picked up on a long time German tabu - namely Adolf Hitler - and transported the figure into a modern day (2011) Berlin for a fictional account of such a 'scenario'. Perhaps not surprisingly the first entry onto the scene comes through media, leading to a swift increase in popularity and stature for the reincarnated Hitler, and wider opportunities thereafter.

The book has three main thrusts - the first being an observation of the modern world through the eyes of a mentally still 1945 conditioned Hitler, the second being a critical review of the modern German political and media landscape (again from the same point of view), and the third an attempt to somewhat dampen the inbuilt feelings of guilt that the Germans have been living with for the past almost seven decades.

The first two are often hillarious, due to both their partial absurdity and the sharp observations. The latter may well be based on one of the most horrendous ideologies in human history but still manage to distill many of the imperfections of modern society very well. The language use is superb and that alone a reason to read it in the original (if your German is up to scratch, otherwise Look Who's Back is the only way forward I am afraid) - irrespective of how good the translation may be, you will not be able get the original Hitleresque tonality across in any other language. The mix between vocabulary stemming from the gutter and truly epic one, the grand tone, even when dealing with trivialities, etc. is simply unique, brilliantly captured and not translatable.

As for the modern German politics / media part, you will certainly not get nearly as much from the book if you do not have a working understanding of the current party structure in Germany and the politicians currently on the scene, or what news outlets stand for what.

Finally, it is understandable that the book was a success in Germany, as it can well lead to a feeling of reduced collective responsibility of the current generation for the sins of their forefathers. This makes the book also somewhat of a 'like it or be very much horrified by it' piece of writing. While I would interpret the message quite clearly that a return to Nazi policies of old is absurd to say the least, not all readers will see it this way and joking about WW2 and its attrocities is still walking on very thin ice.

As such I would not recommend the book to people who are apt to take it too literally. If you look at it with a more relaxed demeanour or classify it as comedy, speak German and are reasonably conversant with the current situation in the country, it is a very amusing piece well worth reading. With a scary final paragraph.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
V

IMPORTANT INFORMATION
The German Kindle edition has been abridged by at least 30% as I learnt from German reviews.
So please stick to the printed edition if you prefer the real thing!!!

HARDCOVER

Unbelievably ingenious satire by Timur Vermes, born in Nuremberg to a German mother and a refugee Hungarian father, refreshingly non-pc and thus apparently meeting the contemporary needs and demands of the German speaking readership

This book was a No 1 bestseller in extremely politically correct Germany for months on end and received 1661 reviews to this day, which speaks for itself.
More than 700000 copies of "Er ist wieder da" were sold until June 2013 and it was translated into 27 languages. I sincerely hope the translations do justice to the original German edition, because the whole story lives off typical German connotations, puns, the current bizarre political drama and its preposterous protagonists.

Highly recommended to everyone who appreciates an intelligent, brilliantly witty, priceless read.

German wikipedia says it will be shot in 2014, which in fact says nothing ;-) and I doubt the film will live up to the book.

(Btw, relatively authentic background knowledge e.g. Hitler's Table Talk 1941-1944: Secret Conversations might increase the pleasure of this treat)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Having read the English translation and being bilingual, I decided that I should acquire the original German version. It was a wonderful read, the real 1930s ideoms and form of speach were so well used. I can strongly recommend it to any reader. It arrived in record time and was cheaper than the English translation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2016
Unlike many other satirical work about Adolph Hitler, this one succeeds at portraying Hitler in a way that is believable and shocking at the same time because one can't help to agree with him on many issues which shows that even today we're not safe from making the same mistakes again. One only needs to look at recent developments in America with the popularity of Trump and the UK voting for Brexit on the back of fearmongering, not the Jews this time, but immigrants. Hitler played on the fears of Germans very effectively and this is very well demonstrated in this book that will make you laugh out loud and choke at the same time. I also recommend the movie which also taking some liberties completely took the essence of this book and put it on the screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
I have only read the English translation. Brilliant, very very funny whilst reminding the world just how evil he was. Timur has done an excellent job getting into the head of AH. At times I found myself understanding where he came from!
It lays to rest the myth that the Germans do not have a sense of humour. If you only read one book this year make it this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
A really overrated book. Apart from all the atrocities that Hitler should be remembered for, he was also a crushing bore, as this book unfortunately demonstrates. It is supposed to be a satire but is not that comical at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here