Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2015
Like many other reviews state, some of the pictures are a little small. The book itself isn't huge (although it is very thick), which really limits it. However, with the inclusion of all of the studies (prototype pieces for grander artworks, if you will), it's an excellent book with a great narrative all the way through about Dali, his life, and his art. It's very fairly priced. If you just want a little something to have a peak at his art works now and again (or maybe you're studying him for an A level or GCSE), you won't be disappointed, but if you truly want to study his art (maybe as part of a university degree), this might not necessarily be for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
An excellent book, perhaps a little more intense for a lay person not well-versed in the language of art. Excellent value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
Simples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Great book. I am new to Art this being the first book that I have on the subject. I bought it following a trip to the Dali museum in Figueres. The book has quite a lot of unintelligible pseudo scientific waffle, most of which is attributed to Dali himself, but by battling through this, the book gives a good feel for the personality of Dali and certainly shows the breadth of his talent. I bough the book for the pictures and it is certainly jam packed full. I would echo the comments of other reviewers that due to the page size the pictures are necessarily smaller that one would ideally like. However they are still fascinating and very appealing to look at. Some of them I felt the need to study with a magnifying glass in order to see the detail.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Apart from the quality of the content, this new release for Dali's work, condensed in only one book its worth only if you want it over a small coffe table since its dimensios are quite small, barely can see the details. Not good
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
There has been a review that says that the print of the paintings is to small in order to study it, but i thought it was absolutely ideal. This was my first real study of Salvador Dali and I loved the fact that it was so absolutely complete. The book is in chronological order.

In my opinion the small paintings depicted in the book were ideal, because it allows the reader to skim through his many, many pieces and select those he liked to be examined more closely in other books or online.

Not to mention that the book has a certain aesthetic value, so it will be a great addition to your bookshelves.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
Superb. The images are fairly small and it, of course, would be great to have a book ten times the size to really examine the works (at the same price, of course!) but this is a really top quality book with lots of good quality color images as well as black and white sketches etc and perfect to peruse before a good night's sleep and dream
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
The book is on the smallish size but for the money definitely worth it. A few pictures on each page or one picture and text per page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Brilliant encyclopaedia style of dali, its not the biggest book size wise but its very thick and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
Very informative but pictures are small due to size of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.28
£15.48

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)