Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars


TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 6 April 2012
Look at all the amazing graphics in this huge book and it's hard to imagine that the original data existed just as numbers and text, in black and probably printed on white paper. Some very clever designers have managed to turn this raw data into beautiful eye-catching images. It's not only numbers into charts though, several pages show diagrams that interpret a situation: Improvised Explosive Devices in Afghanistan (pages 144-145) or the Tour de France (page 193) for example.

The first ninety-six pages (printed on a shorter page width) with four essays, look at the background and history of charts and diagrams. The best I thought was by Simon Rogers of the Guardian with an interesting overview of data and the press. To go with the essays (in English, French and German) there are sixty-four illustrations as a visual timeline from 1144 BC to 2010. This includes a couple of old favourites, Minard's wonderful flow map of Napoleon's retreat from Moscow and Harry Beck's 1933 London Underground map.

The main section of the book is in four parts: Location; Time; Category; Hierarchy. Each explores graphics with generously sized images on the page and detailed sections where the original was quite large or a poster. The work is from the last ten years with a long caption to explain the concept and an additional caption for technical detail: project info; data source; research; design; illustration. I thought the range of material within the four sections very impressive and incredibly wide ranging, though predictably, some of the graphics really do appear to be unreadable (but pretty looking).

Once again Taschen have chosen a subject and given it their usual thorough treatment with a comprehensive editorial in a beautifully produced book. No doubt Edward Tufte would dismiss most of the content as `chart-junk' but I always thought his interesting observations were more concerned with the visual treatment of data for an academic or technical readership rather than eye candy for readers of magazines and the consumer press where so many of the book's graphics originally appeared.

###LOOK AT SOME INSIDE PAGES by clicking 'customer images' under the cover.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
The book itself looks absolutely great - huge, looks beautiful, good choice of examples. I'd probably have given it 5 stars (once I'd finished reading it) if I hadn't been sent not 1 but now 2 faulty copies, the first with a bad cut and dent on the cover edge, the second with about 4 square inch tear on one page. Both of these were inside the shrink wrap, which wasn't damaged (and the packing was fine) and they look like production faults rather than something Amazon did, which reflects pretty badly on the publishers of what's obviously supposed to be a prestigious book. I've just returned the second copy, asking for another replacement. So, if you do order it, make sure to check it carefully for damage once it arrives.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
It's quite hard to write a review that does this book (or should it be tome?) justice. It's big, beautiful and stunning. If you're interested in visual communication, and how to illustrate data in graphical form, then this book is for you.

It's a huge book - this isn't one for bedtime reading. The first part of the book is printed on smaller width paper and features essays by Richard Saul Wurman, Simon Rogers and Paolo Ciuccarelli - all look at data in some shape or form, be it understanding data, how data changes journalism, or turning data and visualisations into stories. All the essays are insightful - for me, the most interesting one was Rogers' essay (as a former journalist, I was very intrigued by what he had to say on data and modern journalism). The essays are in English, French and German.

The bulk of the book is dedicated to all manner of infographics and data visualisations. It's split into four categories - Location, Time, Category and Hierarchy. There is barely a subject that isn't covered - hunting whales, choosing a typeface, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Biofuels, City Waste Management, Fraud, Governments, Tax, Sports, Swine Flu - the list is endless. Some graphics are accompanied by explanation text, while others are granted a short caption. These are the types of illustrations you're likely to see in everyday life (news/broadcasting websites, consumer websites, global brand websites etc) as opposed to academic text books.

A lot of credit needs to go to the publishers and the team that put this book together - it must have been a labour of love. You cannot fail to be inspired by the contents. If I have two criticisms, it's that (first) many of the graphics have been reproduced over double page spreads, and because of the spine of the book, it makes it very difficult to read them. And (second) some of the diagrams are virtually impossible to read because the text is so small. These minor flaws don't detract from what is an excellent book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
It's impressive!!! Perfect packaging. Recommended for fans of data visualisation. I'd been waiting for this book a lot of time and it's not disappointing at all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I ordered this book because, well, of course, I'm new and interested in the subject.
When the book arrived, I actually asked the postman if the parcel were for me....
it's THAT BIG !!! It's 2" thick (really), 15" tall by 10" wide, that is, 5 x 38 x 25 cm, and the book weighs 7.14 lb, that is a little under 3.6 kg!

And then the design and the graphics, I have never seen anything so exquisitely, stunningly beautiful!
Even if you're not so much 'into Information Graphics', but do love Art, go and buy yourself this book, for the ridiculously low price you pay, seen its sheer size and content.

And I must admit, I'm so blown away, that I haven't even start READING the book....!

No doubt, it must be awesome. And if not, well then I'll still cherish the book for its sheer beauty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
This book is massive! but the content is amazing it allows you to see all kinds of diagrams and has plenty of text with each one, I would recommend it to anyone working with graphic design or any design related subjects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
This is a really fantastic book for any lover of infographics. A great addition to have alongside other graphics' books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Bought this for a relative who is a graphic artist who finds it both an interesting read and a source of inspiration
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
I Bought this book because I wanted to learn more about information Graphics undoubtedly this book is packed full of useful information throughout each chapter, It was shipped fairly quickly by courier But I was just surprised at the size of it but other than that it is a great book and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning about information Graphics.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
The most immediate, obvious and pleasing aspect of this product that you notice is the size. It's huge, simple massive. In many ways similar to Information is Beautiful, but with more writing-including a few 'essays'. This was bought as a present, and the recipient was pleased with the content.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse