Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
10
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£44.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2010
This book is an artwork, pure and simple. Limited to only 1700 copies, all signed by Ellen. It is the size of a table, comes housed in an exotic reptillian black hard case, and contains nearly 500 pages of outrageously stunning, inventive, and unique images of many icons from the last 20 years.
Unwerth has a stunning talent of combining carefully staged, composed, lit scenes, and then introducing a mischievous spontaneity to them. In my opinion one of the most talented, not to say fun, photographers of our time.
The Helmut Newton Sumo first print, which this book's design and limited print run is based around, now sells for £10,000. As with art, this book is also a sound investment, and an object to be treasured.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
Well it will be, its absolutely massive, and won't blend in to the background of any book collection - look at the dimensions, its over half a metre high! Taschen do publish some beautiful books and this has got to be one of their best efforts. It comes in a slipcase that looks like some black reptilian skin (don't worry, it can't be real or it would cost even more) inside, the book has the cover as pictured with a binding with the same material. The pages are thick and resilient, its a quality product - but ok, obviously you pay for it.

What about the actual photos? Well I didn't know much about Unwerth's work (which made this kind of a strange purchase but I don't regret it) but now I'm a fan. The works often feature nudity but it is not particularly graphic or explicit - what it exudes in heavy cloying, intoxicating clouds is sensuality, playfulness and a suggestion of kinkiness and even naughtier things which might be going on just out of frame. It is not the kind of work which features any kind of technical how-to which would be interesting for photographers like me, so I don't know what kind of cameras were used or on what settings or anything like that - what I do know is that many of the photos look grainy (I don't believe they'd fake it so these were probably taken on 6x6 or even larger format) and use it to great artistic effect, conjuring as it does a retro, vintage kind of glamour. There also seems to be a little motion blur also used expertly and sometimes just thin depth of field. Many of the models wear veils, a look which Unwerth frequently makes use of and creates some startling portraits.

I think its a great book... still, who is it really for? You kind of have to be a committed bibliophile to even consider ordering a book at such a price but it is, afterall a limited edition (the even more limited ones that come with a print cost a cool grand), and its huge and its beautiful. One star off for the probably excessive price but its a lovely portfolio and fun to browse.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
This book is just amazing. Ellen blend three photographic styles in this book and I can gladly recommend this masterpiece. She got some awesome colour images to but I prefer the black and white ones.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Whilst this is a reprint of the title released last year, this one comes in at a better price which will allow not only followers of fashion, but fans of photography to see how a master not only snaps people in candid moments but manages to set the scene with dressing. It's evocative, it's as beautiful as the people it portrays and there's a photographic style to suit all with my personal favourite being the Art Deco styling's of the models, especially when there's an inner strength portrayed that comes out in the image.

It's a coffee table book, it's a title to inspire but above all else it is an item that will be viewed time and again as the reader can't resist looking at the photographic medium by a true master of the lens. Great stuff and wonderful value for the sheer selection of shots within.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
First it should be noted that some of the negative comments and low scores in the previous reviews are due to something that surely no longer applies - it seems that this book (or a different edition?) was previously priced much higher than currently. At the present price (£27.89) it is quite amazing value.

Fraulein is a substantial and glorious collection, a high quality celebration of beautiful, exotic and sexy women shot with great style, empathy and humour. The images' moods range from the charming and playful through sassy, graunchy, edgy glamour to subtle, classy erotica. Throughout you feel that the women being photographed are hugely confident in their beauty, and indeed they are often having enormous fun. Many images present startling scenarios that suggest fascinating back-stories or get us wondering what happened next. In that sense it is a feast for the imagination, as well as the feast for the eyes which this collection undoubtedly is.

The black and white images are beautifully lit and toned and have a power that is often reminiscent of Helmut Newton's work. The colour photos are breathtaking in their bold and striking use of gorgeous colours. Whilst some images are impressionistic, conveying movement and colour rather than precision of focus, there is masterful use of depth-of-field, and inspired timing and framing. There is also a rare engagement with the subjects, to the extent that in many photos the camera (I mean the photographer) seems intimately linked to the subject, rather than a detached voyeur.

My one tiny gripe is that there are too many photos of women smoking, but that is a personal dislike and I know (though find incomprehensible) that many people find it sexy. And there are so many fabulous images in the 472 pages that this criticism can be completely forgiven. I would recommend this collection completely, and reiterate that it is outstanding value, for so much inspirational beauty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
All is well.h
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
incredible!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Ellen has a unique style which is not really copy-able. good but doesnt have me in raptures photographically. That is a very personal viewpoint. good collection of her work...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2012
If you like black and white, if you like a bit fussy and if you like women, then this is the book for you. Ellen is a great photographer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
Don't get me wrong. Ellen Von Unwerth is a great photographer. She is original and fresh and I own most of her books.
However I have extensively viewed this new "collector's piece" and I find its price simply unbelievably priced... and an outrage... not even all the photographs in here are unpublished (I have seen quite a few around already). If Newton's mammoth Taschen publication reaches barely the £100, I don't see why Unwerth's has to be any more than that...
Sad really.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£45.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)