Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2013
This a book showing erotic photographs of young women.

While some of the photography is quite good, I did not appreciate some of the rest...but I am not an expert on erotic photography. Therefore I found the book a little disappointing.

It is strange too that there are a few photographs displaying girls urinating into drinking glasses or the toilet. If you think that you will enjoy seeing such photographs, here is your opportunity.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 March 2007
Taschen is an outstanding publishing house,continuously bringing works of popular culture to its readers.
Opening up new worlds to its admirers.
Richard Kern is a photographer - a photographer that shoots stills - makes movies.
Some might say that in this part of his life he is an artist - some may say a pornographer.
I will say that to me he is neither - he is just an ordinary guy intrigued by the private lives and intimate deeds and desires of his women and then takes the extra-ordinary action of trying to capture their private lives on film.
A voyuer who wants to share his work with the world (or at least with like-minded individuals).
He is a mature adolescent - retaining his boy-like fascination in the opposite sex - a real curiousity.
He likes to record his women - his girls - exploring their sexuality - discovering their preferences - teasing out their otherwise private responses.
Whether he is teasing out his subject's own honest action or just their reaction to the camera - only he and they know for sure - either way it looks pretty good to me.
This book shows a progression from his original (somewhat contrived) hipness, recorded in other publications elsewhere, to a purer, truer more honest simplicity - an honesty I find sometimes lacking in other photographer's work of a similar genre.
And this book is further enhanced by the surprize inclusion of a DVD compilation of his women in action (hence the publication's title, I guess)- with a soundtrack by another of eternal youth persuasion - Thurston Moore.
Now I am led to believe Mr. Kern wanted this edition to be a little closer to the edge and published under the title 'Hard' but his publisher talked him out of it - so this book may not be exactly what he originally envisaged - but it sure hits the right spot for me.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2007
The evolution of Richard Kern continues. His new book, Action possesses that quintessential pizzazz that runs throughout all of his work, but it nonetheless has its own unique and wonderful flavor too. Kern has always been attracted to the atypical model - he was photographing girls from the "suicide" genre long before it became fashionable - and his affinity for sexy, young ladies continues.

Within the 280 pages of Action there is a subtle yet piercing element of fetishistic sexuality. Panty clad young sirens drop their bottoms, there's toe-sucking, spread shots, and other forms of tainted affection. All presented in that infamous Richard Kern style. Fan's of Kern's work will find numerous reasons to fall in love with his breathtaking vision all over again. And there's an hour-long DVD too. Action is a can't miss!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
I'll confess I was not familiar at all with Richard Kern or his work, but I am now. It's not my kind of thing. I just didn't get what was supposed to be good enough about the images to warrant a book full of them. Just not for me, this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
To be honnest, it really is more porn than art. If your objective is a book that you can look at again and again and enjoy the way the pictures are shot as well as the beauty of the models, then stay away. If a crafty knuckle shuffle is your goal ... I wouldn't both either.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2007
As a follow up purchase to Richard Kern's 'Model Release', I was really looking forward to getting my mitts on this book. However, apart from the remarkably quick delivery (thanks Amazon!), there wasn't an awful lot to be impressed by.

Anybody who is familiar with Kern's work knows what to expect, but for those who don't then, briefly, this is more of Kern's speciality: photos of waif-like (and not-so-waif-like) models in various states of undress. Basically, Kern likes his models slightly dirty - they all give off the air of being the girl-next-door, or the slightly kooky girl you fancied at school.

As far as this goes, then fine. However, 'Model Release' raised the bar for Kern's work; it was more of the porno-chic art that Kern specialises in, but done in such a way that it was an almost acceptable coffee-table work of art. In contrast, 'Action' dumbs down from porno-chic to just porno, and in doing so it takes away from the creativity and originality that Kern was approaching with his earlier work. Effectively, 'Action' seems to demonstrate that, in the ever climbing technical and artistic merit of his publications, 'Model Release' was the pinnacle - making 'Action' either an unexpected blip on ascent or, as I fear, the beginning of a decline in Kern's standards. I hope for the former.

On the plus side, the inclusion of a behind-the-scenes DVD adds a novel dimension to Kern's artistic process. This follows on from the DVD included with another one of Kern's Taschen stable-mates, Roy Stuart's 'The Fourth Body', and if so it provides a welcome direction from the German publishers.

Overall, if this is the type of work you are looking for, Kern's earlier work (especially the glorious 'Model Release') would make a better start or, alternatively, Roy Stuart's work (after vol. 2) or anything by Peter Gorman. For myself, I think that I might wait for Richard Kern's future work with hopeful patience, but I'll certainly have lower expectations.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Very rude indeed, but I keep telling my missus it's art, fantastic real looking women :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Exactly what I expected from Kern in his book
Plus the added DVD is a real bonus
Well worth a purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Great book,great pictures,and the dvd?. Just wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
This is essentially a "nudie" book, but transcends the usual pornography because of the freshness of the models and interesting settings, both inside and outdoors. It is more of a series of artistic poses. A D.V.D. comes with it on which you can watch the young ladies walking about etc.-just grand. Edited by Diane Hanson.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)