Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
25
4.8 out of 5 stars

on 25 July 2017
good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
An excellent book - essential for all lovers of Caravaggio in particular and the Baroque in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 July 2013
The perfect introduction to this painter, a hardback with 96 pages, larger than an A4 sheet, with 47 full page plates and lots of smaller ones. The plates are razor-sharp and the colour very good; a high-quality book with a solid text. Seriously well-produced, and so much more than the basic (and smallish) Taschen basic art edition I bought of Friedrich - I thought Amazon had made a mistake and sent me a much more expensive book!
Only niggles I have is that the cover reproduced here is not the one on my book; I don't mind (it is in fact the same model) and the author is Gilles Lambert - not mentioned in the write-up.
But what a beautiful book for much less than a tenner...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 August 2014
This is an impressive book that provides a biography of the artist, explanations to his paintings and of course a large number of excellent colour reproductions of his works. Caravaggio was a bit of a bad lad , getting involved in fights and murders , associating with the lower classes and having to move from town to town (and country to country) after repeatedly falling foul of the authorities. However he had a number of influential patrons and a ready market for his artistic works. Caravaggio paintings are mostly in the chiaroscuro style ; mainly dark works lit up by outside sources of light. I liked most of them. His works on a religious theme were very good and I have actually seen a few of them in real life on my travels to Rome , Paris and Valletta. I generally prefer more modern art, but I enjoyed reading about this colourful artist and looking at his paintings in this good quality ,inexpensive ,Taschen book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Informative with good illustration. Excellent in all respects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 January 2011
This is a wonderful book which is absolutely indispensable for those interested in the work of Caravaggio. It is, as the title indicates, the complete works of the artist. There are beautiful reproductions of his paintings combined with a background narrative to each of them. The book is competitively priced, when considering that other similar books ,(the entire works) are much more expensive. Recommended.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2010
This is the book that lovers of Caravaggio's work have been waiting for. Clear and informed art historical and analytical text by an eminent authority on the artist, provides a fascinating background to the paintings without being too long or detailed to deter less avid students of art history. The illustrations are of unrivalled quality and depth of colour. Having just visited Rome to see some of the paintings shown, some only recently cleaned, I can testify to the remarkable trueness of colour, worthy of a book much more expensive than this one. It represents unusual value for money. The format of providing detail a close-up illustration for almost every painting, as well as each painting in full, is the next best thing to being with the painting itself, enabling the reader to get both the overall impact and some appreciation of brushwork and tone too. Complete paintings are never split across a page binding, which is always irritating. I cannot recommend the book highly enough.
11 Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
Caravaggio is undoubtedly one of the most fascinating figures in the history of painting, because of his life and because of his work. After a prolonged stay in the purgatory, he has become a kind of icon for the 21st century.
Rossella Vodret has done a remarkable job selecting the works that can be ascribed to him beyond reasonable doubt, which is a huge responsability. Thanks to her thorough research we have for the first time a complete and reliable list of authentic Caravaggio paintings. A huge achievement. I like the iconography as well because of its high standard.
The written presentation is clear and precise. It refrains from subjective judgments and it gives us the cultural backdrop against which we can shape our own personal appreciation.
Madame Vodret sweeps the issue of homosexuality under the rug, but I can live with that !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
This is a must-have for anyone who continues to admire the artistry of the master Caravaggio. Beautifully presented, and allows you to relive the experience of these great works.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)