Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
27
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 November 2013
The book was ordered on Sunday and arrived Tuesday. Great service.
This book is physically huge. It's about a foot long and two inches thick. It is stuffed full of LaChapelle's images in full or double page glory.
Utterly brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
The book arrived damaged. The top right corner of the book was bent and all the pages were therefore doggy eared. The sleeve of the book was also crumpled on the back. Disappointing as this was a present for my mums birthday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
Amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Brilliant coffee table book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
There is certainly a lot of Helmut Newton here but taken to another level of the MTV all American steroids and silicone hip hop fast food generation.

Certain more shocking elements or at times a low resolution look bring to mind Terry Richardson, other more graphic are almost Guy Bourdin.

Popular culture, pop art, fine art, cult films, religious references, celebrities and sex fuse.

An incredible control and creation of even the finest details in set, wardrobe, makeup and styling that is the result of many days for many professionals and huge budgets come together to produce a unique world that is not just mere photoshop but usually all actually existed for the shoot in its full spray painted flowers glory.

David Lachapelle's work has been plagiarized by more than a few major celebrities in their pop videos (who I can't name for legal reasons) who should have hired him to direct their videos instead of the cheap photo-copiers (who have also copied Bourdin's work shamelessly).

Heaven to Hell is an essential purchase for anyone serious about their collection of contemporary photography books.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
Just arrived today and this mind-blowing book has forced me to put it down and think about what the image is trying to say 3 or 4 times and I've only just started it. A visual feast, riotous colour, immaculate composition - you name it and the cliché was created to describe this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2010
Such an amazing collection of LaChapelle's artwork. It is not for a coffee table where children are near, but hay - it's amazing. Would reccomend it definetely.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
This was bought as a christmas gift for a friend and she was so happy when she got it and spent a long time watching the photos and discussing it with us. It is truly and inspirational book with amazing photos. But it also gives you food for thought in different ways. I really recommend it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
I bought this book as I love La Chapelle's work. I was looking for something that shows it and I wasn't disappointed. The pictures are amazing and inspiring. I recommend it to anyone! Beautiful!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2011
Really great book with magnificant pictures. Really great to have on the coffe table in the living room for guest to browse through. It works very well as a decoration item.

Unfortunatly the copy i recieved had two pages glued together. I contacted Amazon who gave me the option of exchanging it for a new or a small percentage in refund. The customer service was excuisite and handled the situation very satisfactory.

You can truly buy this book with confidence and you wont be dissaponted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)