Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£26.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 23 September 2010
This lovely book follows the same format as Taschen's Los Angeles (ISBN 978-3836502917): a history of the city based on named photographers though there are many fine images taken by anonymous snappers. The LA book had thirty-nine photographers but as this is New York it takes 124 of them and over 500 photos to expose the city.

All the regulars are here, photographers who have created that special look over the years. Abbott, Bubley, Eisenstadt, Feininger, Klein, Orkin, Riis and a good showing from Weegee but what I found fascinating was the number photos from anonymous sources. Right up to the late Forties unknowns had taken some quite remarkable shots revealing a particular aspect of city. Some of these run over spreads throughout the book and they look stunning. Pages 108-109 have that famous shot of the sunlight streaming through windows at Grand Central Terminus, anonymous from 1929.

The book's five chapters look backwards over 160 years starting in
1850 and though maybe one could fault it by only using historical photos rather than a wider range of graphic images I think it succeeds because of this. The city has a long pedigree of photographic interpretation and some of the best works are in these pages. Nearly all the images are exteriors showing the changing landscape, people (either New Yorkers or personalities) or just out on the street. I thought it was a plus that there are very few celebrity shots here.

Several pages have largish thumbnails of cultural graphic items: book jackets and posters for plays and movies. The back pages have brief artistic listing of suggested reading, listening and viewing. All the named photographers get a hundred or so word biography.

Like Taschen's LA book this is a lovely designed and produced title that takes a different and fresh look at the city. The large page size and huge photos celebrate one of the world's great cities.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2010
Very pleased with this book, great double page photos, and gives great overview of the city and at this price you get alot for your money highly recomended and is the best photo book of nyc.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
This is another great big photo book from Taschen which represents excellent value for money.

The photos are in approximate chronological order and the book serves as both a love letter to New York and also an interesting historical document.
I have many books on New York and this one is easily up there with the very best.
Buy this book, you won't regret it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
The pictures in the book are amazing. High quality and it really gets the motion of New York - the good and the bad side of the city. It's not much of a history lesson but it outlines the most important events of the city. The book follows a timeline - from the beginning to the present and the evolution of the city.
The pictures are astonishing, it tells you something.. a history tale or a special atmosphere. The book's quality is great as well.

It's a bit expensive but i highly recommend the book!! especially if you're going to New York.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Firstly, the book is high quality; the paper is a good weight and many of the photos are very good - it feels good in the hand and looks good on the coffee table.

The issue with this book (that was published in 2010) is that the section '1988 to current' has very very few contemporary images - 2000 onwards is covered so briefly it feels like the book was published much much earlier. I regret not waiting until the 2nd edition (2015) was released. That being said, it is a beautiful book.

Extra note: I have subsequently purchased Taschen's 'Impressionism' (2013) - as the images couldn't be out of date! This is a great book also. Same high standard as New York, and covers some great material. I highly recommend books published by Taschen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 March 2011
Yet again Taschen have produced an excellent photography book, overflowing with images from over 150 years, shows the heart and soul of New York. Wonderful book. Great gift for anyone who loves New York, photography or just nice coffee table books. Also a great gift for yourself!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
My son bought this book for me as a Christmas present. If you love New York as I do, this book is a must! The pictures are amazing and it is nice to read the history of New York. There is only one problem with this book - it makes me long to go back to New York for a third trip!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
This is a visually stunning book, taking you through the historic highs and lows of one of the greatest cities on Earth.

I received it as a gift and can wholeheartedly recommend it for anyone who is interested in photography, travel, history, or more specifically New York.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
A very big book loaded with many good photographs and illustrations ,some of the content may be familiar and some photgraphs a little "pointless arty" in style.
Telling the story of New York in three languages pads out book making it look very large but adds nothing to the value.I was disappointed in the amount of space given to the period from the thirties through to the eighties.If you know and like New York you will find this book interesting.As for me I'd have liked less foreign language and more photgraphs from the 30's, 40's, 50's and 60's.
A take home book for New York's foreign tourists who don't mind paying the extra baggage charges on their flight home.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
As a fan of coffee table books I was really impressed with this book - a really heavy weight book with some really interesting pictures of New York. I also bought the London book and I am equally impressed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here