Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 24 June 2017
It is what it says it is. A book about mies van der rohe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
These Taschen books are really great, the print quality is fantastic for such a low price. Loads of great images, reproduced really nicely. Bargain!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I CHOSE THIS RATING BECAUSE ARCHITECTURE IS RIGHT UP MY STREET. THE PHOTOS IN THIS BOOK ARE VERY NICE AND THE BOOK IS SMALL AND SETOUT WELL. THE INFO ON MIES IS FIRST CLASS AND READING IT GIVE YOU INSIGHT AS TO DESIGN AND IMPLEMENTATION TO A VERY HIGH STANDARD. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO PURIST AND THOSE WHO STUDY MIES AND THE ARCHITECTURE OF THE BAUHAUS. GOOD BOOK.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
This book will show you furniture you will recognise and with this book associate it with Mies van der Rohe who for myself was a living legend as I was associated with the draughting team producing the working drawings for the last project Mies worked on with Sid Bregman, a principal of the Bregman & Hamann architectural firm in Toronto Canada.
Mies was a perfectionist and this book should make you want to read further about this man.
The Toronto Dominion Bank Building is perhaps a lasting tribute to him. It was clad in black steel with flush tinted windows and I believe had the fastest double elevators in North America,(at the time, circa 1967).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
First let me apologise for my previous 'review'. I stand corrected. I can only say in my defence that coming from a cultural wilderness and a lumberjack, I just don't care. Yep! you guessed it. I'm Canadian, both French and English. .

This book like other books about Mies Van Der Rohe always make me wonder if modernism and minimalism are the same thing?
The one very noticeable thing shewn is the clear space in the floor areas. It's always relaxing when Van Der Roe's work appears.
The Seagram's building in NY city caused Mies to be asked to work on the Toronto Dominion Tower with Sid Bregman of Bregman & Hamann Architects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Great book on Mies van der Rohe work! Lacks some pictures, if that is what you are after. Anyway, great quality/cost ratio
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Great book delivered on time and in perfect condition, would recommend very highly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
This is a volume of great interest to those who know the work of Mies. It is a light work and easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2016
All good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Eames
£9.99
Mies van der Rohe
£8.08

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)