Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2017
Amazing, pictures are stunning and the book arrived brand new! This book is incredible and Frans Lanting has created amazing photographs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 December 2003
Wow !!! How can anyone get so close?!
These photographs are absolutely stunning. The talent of Frans Lanting oozes from these pages.
There is a closeness to the subjects here that borders on the intimate. In some cases, one wonders how he actually managed to get the shot.
The focussing and exposure is spot on and the composition is perfect.
I have tried to follow this type of photography and I am only too aware of how difficult it is to obtain these sorts of images.
I take my hat off to Frans Lanting. This is a brilliant work. A completely unique approach to wildlife photography. His behind the scenes narrative to the shots is also very illuminating.
This book is not only a valuable reference for all nature photographers but a captivating example & encouragement to all other wildlife photographers that reveals exactly what can be achieved. Sensational !
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2000
There really are some amazing photos in this book. They are the right size and shape but the folds and seams of the book do spoil the effect of (for example) a lion staring right at you. I guess that Frans doesn't want us ripping them out and putting them on the wall behind glass as if they were the real thing. Having seen some of the photos reproduced in a magazine on a smaller scale (with no break in them) I was rather dissappointed by the reduction in impact of the photos due to the binding of the book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2005
I was browsing with no real purpose when i came across this book, and heck am i glad i did! The pictures are utterly amazing, up close yet crisp and clear. It had allways been my beliefe that a book comprised of pictures was a one look wonder but that has changed of late with my discovery of books such as this one. You can recall the pictures but can never remember all the detail so every time you see it you're amazed! A wonderful book, nodoubt about it, Frans Lanting is a great photographer and he proves this in yet another exelent book
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2005
From the elephant up to the insect, from the cayman up to the seal every animal looks us in the eyes deeply. "Less than the human being: - the monkey follows in the system of zoology according to an immense ravine. If one, however, once wanted to organize the animals after her bliss, cosiness etc., then some people would come to stand anyway apparently under the miller donkeys and hounds ... ", 250 years ago the nature scientist Georg Christoph Lichtenberg already wrote. However, he did not have a camera yet to hand to cover this. Frans Lanting, however, shows us the determination with which snow geese and ibisses, penguins or zebras are away to something, shows us her family care and the dignity of animals in liberty - at times, when more and more people feel caught - a book which reminds us that "upright walking"- that synonymous of the philosophers for courage and self-respect - that you can make it true even on all four paws...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2003
If you have any interest in wildlife photography, then this book will simultaneously inspire you to greater things and make you want to smash up your gear and never use a camera again. The pictures in this book are truely stunning. If you are thinking of taking up nature photography for a living, then give up now! Guys like this are just too good. Buy this book, and just sit back and marvel at the beauty of nature and the skill and artistry with which it has been captured on film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 1999
I first came across Lanting's work about a year ago. His approach is magnificent and absorbing: he has a real natural talent for taking the most amazing wildlife photography. This books is no exception. Packed with pin-sharp, crystal clear, breathtaking images, Lanting wastes no time with poncey 'space-fill' words. Instead he goes straight for a no-nonsense totally-photographic approach which enrapts anyone who picks the book up. The book is a completely professional package, from its cover photograph, through its cleverly ordered and arranged photograph selection, to the Photographer's own notes at the back. Lanting even finds some space for his own foreword, without, I may add, trading photographic space for it. If you find yourself transfixed by the wonders of modern wildlife photography, this book will blow you away!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 1999
This book shows how much work and love the photographer has put in his work. It allows the viewer not only to see wonderful pictures but also indeed to "feel the air" near hundreds of different animals in the wild, and proves that photography as well as painting depend not only on talent or machinery, but also on the amount of concentration that deepens the level of understanding of what is in view. I think the least one can do to show some appreciation, is to buy the book. I have already given 3 copies as presents and the recipients are very happy. Congratulations Mr Lanting!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
what can I say .. if you are into wildlife photography then this should be on your coffee table, Frans makes a point that I have carried with me for 6 years .."there is nothing unprofessional about photographing wildlife that lives in conservation parks & don't let anyone ever tell you different"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
Never received it...It got lost in mail, I guess...And no replacement available...So, what more can I say? I hope to find another copy soon, for about the same price, but that seems very, very difficult...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£22.32

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)