Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
16
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£135.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 21 May 2009
With the price of this book being so very costly, I spent many days and nights debating whether to shell out and buy this book. Its cost constantly fluctuates, even the amazon price, but it is well worth making the decision to purchase.
As the owner of The Complete Kake Comics and The Complete Tom Of Finland Comics, as well as the hardback edition of Tom Of Finland, I finally made up my mind to purchase this new collection of illustrations from one of the most famous portrayers of homo-erotic artwork. The book is lavishly illustrated with a historical presentation of Tom's artwork and produced in an order which can only be appreciated by connoisseurs of this type of artwork. While some may find the content of the art offensive, to the true art critic it is sheer brilliance of an artist using a multitude of mediums and creating masterpieces which will be admired for many generations to come.
The thing which I found so wonderful was the fact that the book arrived in its very own cardboard carry case with a plastic handle. Even more beautiful was the cover of the book - a true delight - with one of Tom's famous iconic images embossed. A surprise and a delight.
If you are respectful of homo-erotic art and not offended by adult content, then I strongly recommend this book on your 'wish' list. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
There have been many books dealing with the work of Tom of Finland, but this is the largest (literally, the book is enormous and heavy) of all.
Here you will find the most complete gathering ever of the work of Tom. He left such a vast legacy of work that the task of collating so much work from so many scattered sources must have been daunting. Taschen as usual,have managed to source work that was thought to have been lost,or that has not been seen in decades.Pencil preparatory sketches, watercolour, ink, all are here. The reproduction of the artwork cannot be improved upon. Some of the watercolour work is so closely reproduced that it is possible to see the bubbles where the paint dried on the page. Amazing.
Obviously,the subject matter is not for the faint-hearted,and nothing is taboo here. The book comes in a cardboard carry-case and has an embossed dustjacket,and ribbon bookmark.Printed on heavy and good-quality paper,this is a book to be treasured. Top quality from Taschen.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2010
I've been aware of Tom of Finland's work for a number of years' but have never felt compelled to invest in any previous publications of his art.
That is until I spied this hefty looking tome!
WOW!
This has to be one of the most exciting purchases I've made in a while; it really is quite the event just taking receipt of the thing - I felt like I should have had an audience and a stage just to note the occasion!
As others have pointed out it really is a joy to "unveil"; removing from the cardboard carry case it comes in and seeing the embossed image wryly smiling back at you...
It really is a treat.
Beneath the exquisite dust cover the book is black felt with another two images carved into it, exuding style and quality before you've even opened the cover!
And once you do I guarantee you'll be mesmerised for hours. I looked through a quarter of the book and over two hours had passed!
The images found within are extraordinarily good - and that isn't gushing praise but fact plain and simple. It's easy to get lost in the sheer sex of it all but the quality of Tom's work is found on so many other levels. These are images that just transfix you - beg to be looked at and admired.
There also lots to read - following the career of the great man and the progression of his work. Hand on heart I haven't read much of it yet but that's testiment to the power of his drawings: my focus just can't stay on the writing for that long.
It seems expensive but for the quality, size and sheer scale of the thing you won't mourn a penny of the pounds you spend on this. So what are you waiting for? Click buy - get it express - wait in - enjoy the anticpation and have fun; I've had mine for almost four months now and I still can't keep my hands and eyes off it!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2009
Tom of Finland XXL is one of the best books I have ever purchased and I have an extensive collection of quality books. Although the cost may appear high it is excellent value and the book will provide many, many hours of pleasure. Furthermore it is extremely good value when purchased through the Internet compared to the high stree bookseller price. This purchase can be described as awesome.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
Tom of Finland, thirty years on, remains, not just a pioneer but a revolutionary. When gay men were only just edging out of the closet, Tom proclaimed the joyful, priapically proud, masculinity of gay sex. Most gay art has become more subtle since then but none celebrates man on man sexuality with such provocative verve.
This is certainly the most complete compendium of Tom's work we shall ever see and it is put together with editorial and presentational brilliance. The reproductions of Tom's work are stunning and their vibrant erotic quality never more vividly displayed. It was experiencing Tom's drawings for the first time that compelled me to come to terms with my sexuality. They hit me over the head and in the groin with irresistibly arousing force.
This book captures that erotic tidal wave for all time and all generations.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2010
If you're reading this then I guess you already know of the Tom of Finland series. The BIG difference here is the comprehensive and previously unseen material, and the HUGE format of the book itself - it weighs a ton! The reproduction of the paintings and drawings etc is exemplary and it is a true collector's item sure to appreciate in value over the years - not that you's ever want to part with it! ;-)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
Hot hot hot, what else you could possibly say;) it's sexy, it's arty, it's amazing. There isn't more gay iconic artist then TF;)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
For all fans of Tom, this is a must! The production values are fantastic - form the jacket , with embossing in all the right places to the superb cover and binding. Really large books like this can feel flimsy, but this is a relly sturdy item.The quality and variety of the illustrations is simply wonderful. The book wasn't cheap but I can honestly say it was worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Hi great book graphics this guy new exactly how to draw the male form. You won't be sorry when you buy this book. You won't be able to put it down. Thurley recommend tom of Finland xxl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Beautiful album with the work of Tom of Finland.
Good quality illustrations.
Album large size and heavy)))
Many rare works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)