Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
7
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2010
Released in conjunction with the 100th anniversary of Cartier in america and the exhibition in San Francisco,which was late last year shown in Los Angeles.A first class book with simply stunning photos and images,showing well known pieces,aswell as newer pieces that i have not seen in other Cartier books.The book features many well known collectors of Cartier with background information on these people,and the pieces they owned.The cover picture showing the extraordinary Emerald and Diamond pendant/clip that was once owned by Marjorie Merriweather Post,who had a collection that rivaled most museums,some of her pieces are on display in the Smithsonian in Washington D.C.A book for the money it costs that is worth every penny.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2010
This book accompanied the exhibition of "Cartier in America" which was held in The Legion of Honour Art museum in San Francisco in April-May 2010. I saw the exhibition which was breath-taking and the book gives all the background information to the jewellery exhibited there. It's written by an expert and covers the period from when Cartier set up business in the USA, one hundred years ago, and started selling to the nouveau riche to the present day when celebrities, actresses and legendary figures of the 20th century owned the jewellery. I wasn't interested in jewellery until I went to the exhibition, but it changed my perspective of the subject. I think every woman and any man interested in Art and Design would find it fascinating to read the histories of the fabulous jewellery illustrated here There is also a comprehensive glossary. One never owns such jewellery, one just looks after it for the next parson to enjoy. This book is ideal and worth buying for someone already interested in the subject, but if you don't know anything about it then perhaps you'll enjoy learning like I did. The book was priced $45 at the museum.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
Great book and great value. If you love beautiful workmanship and design this is for you but it's not just about the pictures. This is an excellent read too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Great value book with stunning photography. Highly recommend this. Great story telling behind the pieces. 5 star you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Page after pafe of jewels with no description of the gems used. Very little text and not of interest to jewellers and gemologists.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Gorgeous coffee table book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)