Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
18
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2010
I was really looking forward to seeing this book but was unfortunately a bit disappointed. I cannot fault the initial words by Rob Bailey which I thought were going to set the scene for some excellent pictures. However after viewing, the book gives the impression that the 21st century mod is exactly the same as the previous mid 60's and revival mods that have gone before. Of all the 100 or so pictures in the book, all of which in fairness are nicely photographed, I only counted about 16 pictures of guys and girls looking really cool... the rest looked frankly a bit tired, clichéd and in some instances all a bit Austin Powers for my taste. All a bit ironic really when you consider the definition of modernism and the fact that those who really got it had moved on by `63/64. But Bailey is right when he says you can be a mod at any age - the ethos of mod never leaves you. There are plenty out there who still have the mod ideal, dig the coolest music, always look sharp and who have the 60's as a reference but neatly apply it to the 21st century. Those in the know recognise it straight away.. and no sign of a parka in sight. If only Friedrichs had sought these folks out....now that would make a relevant book.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
I've bought the Book .What a beautiful photographed Book ! I really loved it, as it captures many faces, looks and frames that well represent the whole Mod culture.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2009
I have bought many Mod books over the years with reams of information but this book is the exact opposite. The stunning pictures are amazing, every one tells it's own story and I would thoroughly recommend this book to everyone. Fantastic!!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
I had high expectations for this. I have been involved in the mod scene since the early 80's. It reverberates through everything I do.

Irritatingy, many people, including a number of people "on the scene" get confused between Mod and the swinging 60's look. To real Mods - this is considered a sin but as time has passed - it seems anything goes. Some of the characters photographed really are not mods, even in the broader sense - eg the character with all the tatts...(?). Not a true picture of what Mod is really about. Attention to detail is a Mod thing, maybe this could have been applied at the editing stage.

There are some cool pictures of true Mods but it seems the compiler doesn't truly understand mod ethics.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
This book is sposed to be about the 21st century MODS, however, aprt from the usual people, (models who happen to be mods etc) there are few very un mod like types in the book...i was disappointed to say the least. unless you are a completest, dont bother with it. There are better books on the subject out there...the author, (photographer) also did a book on 21st century rockers, which is actually a better more informed book..i sold mine on ebay.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2010
As someone who's been obsessed by the mod movement since I was 11 in 1979, I found this book very disappointing. Firstly, it's just photos with very little text, many being of no relevance at all to the mod movement. I'm afraid alot of the people featured are not mods, some could audition for the next Austin Powers instalment. Much more to mod than this.
Buy Terry Rawling's book instead.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
It's a Xmas present for my Son, so I'm not sure what he will think. I had a sneak preview and thought it was great... reminds me of my youth and being a Mod! Delivery time was excellent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
a fantastic book, and i am suprised at those on amazon who have given this book a low rating. This book is NOT ABOUT ORIGINAL 60'S MODS!!!!. If you are looking for something authentic to the days of mod originallity, then this is not the book. Many have written thier reviews based upon this, and if they had just read the books title!!!!, then they would have realised that.The days where we could go to brick lane or cambden market, and buy oroginal 60's fred perrys and ben sherman cardigans left over from the 60's is long gone. Many of the old original 60's produce was sold out in the early 80's after the rise of quadrophenia, and now this book is based upon how the youth of today creates the mod style using clothes that are self made, or mixed and matched from various 21st centuary fashion houses. Which is not an easy feat, considering we are now living in the modern britain infatuated with baseball caps, track suits and tastless indie/student fodder. This book is a great homage to those who put love and dedication into living out the glory days, and is a great source of inspiration as to how the mod look can be acchived with a 21st centuary twist. there are Fantastic pictures in this book that will blow you away, and it has been compiled together so that it will be loved by old and young and male and female. A well thought peice of art and publishing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
great book for visual referefnce on mod fashion/style.....a great buy at the price. i'd recommend the book to anyone interested in mod fashion & culture.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
I'm into the whole scooter scene as well as photography and was totally disappointed by this book, from a photography point of view it has one or two very cool shots but other than that it's really not worth buying. Badly put together, inconsistent in style and technically boring. Have a flick through a copy before wasting your hard earned.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here