Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
25
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 October 2007
A chronological presentation of Egon Shielle's landscape paintings, commencing with works produced when he was only sixteen. Each painting is reproduced in colour on one page with brief informative explanatory notes on the facing page, and invariably with additional photographs usually of the actual scene depicted in the painting, and occasionally Shielle's own preliminary sketches. The book concludes with a brief illustrated biography, and bibliography. A most informative and beautifully illustrated publication with text kept to a minimum and free from pompous waffle.
22 Comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Quite a nice book, especially it should be a find for those who are interested in Schiele's urban landscape paintings and sketches; there are fewer pictures of nature, trees, etc. Paintings are listed chronologically and up to the page 54 reproductions are of his earlier works not recognizably Schiele-esque in style or appearance, but interesting for curiosity's sake nonetheless. Introduction is 3-4 pages at the beginning, and biography's about the same length at the end of the book.
The book has my favourite Autumn tree in Turbulent Air, which is great. Other non urban pictures are a couple versions of Sunflowers, Fuschsia Branches, Mountain by the river, Calvary, Autumn trees, Landscape with ravens, Four Trees, Landscape with red sky, Small tree in Late Autumn, Bare trees, Early spring, Setting sun - the work on the cover, little tree, Shrines in the forest. Also, it has Mountain Stream and Decaying Mill. The Bridge oil painting I'm also interested in is disappointingly small only 6cm by 6cm large. Instead on the right page where in my opinion the oil painting should've been, there's this large sketch of the bridge in watercolour and gouache. Inexplicable, really. But that's the only complaint I have regarding layout decisions in this book. It is very well planned and organized otherwise. Good resolution pictures and up close photos. Pictures of Schiele's works are on the right page, and descriptions, photographs of locations, some sketches or curio are on the left mostly. Sometimes they are followed by close up views of some works on a two page spread. Paper is bright white and matt.
I was pleasantly surprised with my paperback cover. It's tougher than expected, not the type of the cover to tear or to crease accidentally. If there were a mid-category between paperback and hardback, this book would be it.
Good value for money I think, especially when I recall that I used to buy arts and culture magazines for about the same price or even a bit more depending on the title.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Smaller than the original version, but lovely plates inside. Bought as a gift, my husband was very pleased and a fine addition to our growing collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2011
i bought this book because i love egon schiele's way in which he draws his semi nudes...i was not disappointed this is a wonderful book with beautiful colour illustrations, some gorgeous sketches in black and white with the text easy to read. If you like schiele you will love this book.
It was delivered beautifully wrapped in tissue i am thoroughly chuffed!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Smashing little book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Beautiful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
If, like me, you're a Schiele fan, then this is for you. His landscapes are just as interesting as his figures and portraits: just as original, quirky and simply fascinating. Check out Krumau (or, in Czech, Ceský Krumlov, the town Schiele did many studies of) on Google Maps and Google Images: fascinating to contrast the reality with what he made of the place. A plus in the book is that contemporary photographs (contemporary with Schiele) of the town are shown with the drawings. Great stuff.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
Wasn't what I expected ....perhaps my expectations were too high but not a very interesting read. The best art was on the front cover!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
I hadn't seen much of Schiele's landscape painting and this book is a revelation. Excellent photographs and text which show his experimental way of working. Very contemporary and useful for my painting development. I love his layering of paint colour and texture.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The illustrations are the undoubted strength of this superb book. It reproduces much of Schiele's landscape production in colour; indeed, nearly all of the works are accompanied by reference photographs showing the exact scene depicted. In this the author performs a valuable service to his readers: one can cross-check between scene and final composition, assessing how Schiele adapted and processed the motif to transform it into art.

What this otherwise fine book lacks - and does need - is an introductory discussion of Schiele's ideas about how the landscape was to be represented, showing how these views influenced the design of his striking pictures. The textual notes accompanying each work are slender, and remain narrowly descriptive, so they do not explain much. (I had to use Wolfgang Fischer's Schiele to learn what the artist set out to do with his landscapes.) The need for an illuminating and analytical introduction is why I give the book 4½ stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)