Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars

on 22 November 2017
beautiful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
Not as good as the website of the same name which spawned it, not in my mind anyway. But that's like saying Alfred Hitchcock's Rebecca is not as good as Daphne DuMaurier's, they're still both superb. Miranda July seems to turn to gold, anything she touches, whether film, short story or art. The book details, in a slightly more linear and less exciting manner most, but not all, of the art displayed on the project website. The best bit on the website for me is the challenge inviting people to introduce their own challenge, this isn't recorded in the book. There is a leaning towards four or five challenges mainly, and then a full list in the back pages. What can I say, the project was genius, but the book disapoints if you know the website.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
I might be slightly biased, as I kind of adore Miranda July, but the project that she and Fletcher undertook - unpon my hearing about it, late - sounded brilliant. I love doing little things like this (the 'tasks' include taking a picture beneath your bed, writing out a conversation that you've never had, etc.) and the little prompts brought on bouts of inspirations and ideas. Other people's submissions of the 'tasks' have also been included, which is great to look/read through. It's full of anecdotes, and provides a great example of 'how real people write', which can always come in handy for writers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
This book is a deeply personal look into peoples lives. A small collection from the original website with the same title name. It tells stories through art, words and pictures, an inspiring book that gives you hope for humanity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2008
i love this book.
if you arent familiar with the project look at the website.
all bits in the book are on the site but feels much better to hold them in your hands.
makes me laugh and cry.
its an art project by a lot of non-artists. or artists working in a different medium than they normally would. big photos. short stories, tiny snippets.
every home should have one.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2011
***** A great art project translated into a great book. It's like everything July touches becomes gold. A must have if you are into her work or into contemporary free/open art in general.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
Good, entertaining book for people with a quirky and/or sentimental side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
Bought as a Christmas present. Sister says it was a fantastic book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)