Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
4.8 out of 5 stars

on 30 March 2017
Took longer than the stated delivery date, does it really take 10 days for the post to deliver in UK ?. Quality and content of the book excellent, all printed on good quality paper. If you want an in-depth study of what Klimt, the man, did for recreation and escape from the city, this is it. There is so much in here it may take a twelve month to digest it all. Wonderful pictures - art history at he turn of the last century when artists painted what they saw and not 'concepts'.- this man really was an artist
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Excellent and beautiful a useful resource for landscapes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 October 2015
This is what you want of an art book - it makes dazzling use of its high quality illustrations. The editor and designer have combined images of entire paintings by Gustav Klimt with close-ups of details, studies and drawings, photographs by the artist, as well as documentary photographs of Klimt on location, etc, and reproductions of major works which we know influenced his landscapes (including pieces by Seurat and Signac). So much is conveyed as you turn the pages and look at superb illustrations: the close-ups which show the brushwork just have to be seen.

Visually, this is a stunning book. But the plates are supported by 8 essays/chapters on the artist written by a team of 7 experts, in addition to several lucid introductions to individual and grouped canvases. The themes covered in these chapters include: Austrian ideas about nature; the 1890s fashion for rural holidays; Klimt's approach to landscape painting; Klimt's approach to modernism; landscape art, optics and telescopes; Klimt and the Teutonic landscape tradition; and Klimt's technique. Several of these chapters are intended for the general reader, while others cater for scholars.

This is a remarkable publication, deserving of a place in any art library. Make no mistake, you will not find another art book as carefully organised page-by-page to show the visual complexity and technical richness of an artist
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 January 2016
I have always preferred Klimt's landscape paintings to his probably better known figurative work and this was therefore a very thoughtful Christmas gift. Many of the plates are of the various Attersee paintings which I love for their feeling of brightness and light, often filled with flowers that remind me of Monet's paintings of his garden at Giverny. The forest paintings are also included.

The plates are high quality and the well-written accompanying notes and very informative essays. Although this volume is concerned with the landscape paintings, throughout the book there are small examples and photographs of Klimt's other work, and indeed of some other artists to illustrate points being made in the essays and notes and to provide context.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2007
When we think of Gustav Klimt, we think of luxuriant women, some nude, richly embellished with gold and adorned with swirls, triangles, stylized flowers. We may think of his portraits of the Viennese upper bourgeoisie in the years immmediately preceding the First World War. What we consider less often is his landscapes, to which this book is entirely devoted. All the landscapes he ever painted are depicted here, including the half dozen or so that were sadly destroyed by fire in the last days of World War Two.

Klimt was not commissioned to paint landscapes ; instead, he painted them whilst on his annual holidays, as a form of relaxation and also as a way of trying out new techniques. They are very good ; just because he was painting whilst on holiday didn't mean that Klimt was going to be careless ! I'm struck by how much these paintings GLOW. They are very sensuous, making me feel I can reach out and actually touch the pink roses, or the bark of the beech trees, or the waters of the Attersee in the middle of summer. They are spring and summer landscapes (autumn and winter was always spent in Vienna) and their mood is optimistic though never kitsch. There is none of van Gogh's angst in these works, though Koja points out that van Gogh was an influence. Perhaps they are nearer to the work of Monet.

I'm really glad I found this book. Available in paperback as well as hardback, it is reasonably priced and the number of colour reproductions, as well as many photographs of Klimt and his set, make it very enjoyable as well as informative.
22 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
not so much known for his landscapes- but this collection of images is a revelation. a well produced book with plenty of colour illustrations. Quite abstract landscapes, unusual compositions, well worth a look. Informative text too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
This is a great book illustrating Klimts landscapes which I hadn't seen before and are not well known like his other work (eg The Kiss).I feel Ive learnt a lot about his way of painting landscapes - he relied on a telescope to bring the image nearer -a technique I am now using with the help of the zoom on my digital camera.The illustrations and the colour in the book is very good and I especially liked the way it showed a section of the reproduction on the page opposite the full sized one.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
Just received this book by Stephan Koja. It took a month to arrive but well worth the wait. This is a lovely book, full of very "informative" information if that makes sense, easy to read and absorb and not weighted down with a load of arty speak. It has great illustrations, including close ups for those of us who want to see how it was done.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Book in reasonable condition thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
A nice book, showing the comparatively unfamiliar aspect of Klimt's painting- beautiful landscapes, helps me understand more about the artists's spiritual world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)