Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
45
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 8 April 2017
Full of wonderful pictures. An inspiration to any artist or to be enjoyed by anyone who likes fine things. Worth it for the pictures alone. I have not yet got to reading the introductory text but a quick glance at it looks as if that will be interesting too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2006
This is a book based on natural organism that we rarely see and yet the forms and shapes are amazing it is like seeing the creatures for the deep which exsist but we rarely see, the ones that seem so alien to us when we do get to see pictures of them.

This is one of the books that i have used over and over to inspire me for new projects.

i have also given or recogmended this book to countless amount of people in various craft fields from knitters to embroiders to jewellers and potters.

it is one of the inspiration sources that Antonio Gaudi used for some of his designs.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Beautiful book, a really useful resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2017
Wow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Smells good, looks good, feels good. A quality book with quality prints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
Fabulous book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2009
In every sense of the word. There's something relentlessly fascinating about this book, it's a monument to obsession, to the scientific viewpoint, to nature, too. The introductory essay is tedious beyond words, but still puts the images themselves in context - and what images. Timeless, intricate, bordering on heavy metal at times, with their spikes and prongs. These starkest images of micro-skeletons etc are the ones I treasure most. Unearthly - yet also simply a clear view on what is really there, in our world. Every home should have a copy!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
This book is of great quality, good coloured images, easy to read text. I am doing an art foundation course and this book includes all the information you would require from a bibliography about the artist. There's a good quantity of images which you can not access off the internet, it includes a wide range of works. overall a great book, well worth the money.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
I was not disappointed. A delightful book. I picked this for my son's 11th birthday. He's really into nature, sci-fi and fantasy video games/books and drawing, so I thought it'd be helpful inspiration for the latter.

The introductory section is detailed and well-written (for an older audience than my son, of course) but Haeckel's images speak clearly without the need for explanation. The meticulous detail of the plates is astounding. Each page features a symmetrical arrangement of etchings of related species of various classes of organism. Expect to see pages devoted to seaweeds, seaslugs, jellyfish, crustaceans, bats, fish and reptiles for example. And while these are conceptually familiar, in Haeckel's rendering they are bizarre and other-worldly. The spatial arrangement of organisms enhances the feeling of design, which is evocative of Art Nouveau style or some William Morris wallpapers. There's a mix of monochromatic and exquisite colour images and the book itself is substantial.

I can't imagine anyone not being awed and fascinated by this collection of engravings. It could change the way you look at the natural world and is surely great inspiration for artists and designers. My son loved it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2003
I utterly adore this book. It's one that I come back to time and time again for visual inspiration. It is undoubtably beautiful to look at but it's also completely nutty in that delightfully mad Victorian way. People tend to think of this sort of very detailed drawing as being very accurate and as being "real art", yet nothing in nature is as symmetrical or refined as Haeckel drew it. He created an erzatz nature, a nature that is highly sylised to the extent that his forms read not as natural but as profoundly alien. The way he drew was not realism, but an extension of his scientific beliefs. Haeckel was a fervent believer in Darwinism and the essay at the beginning of the book is an interesting exploration of the way in which his belief overrode his scientific objectiveness, to the extent that his scientific research has since been proven totally false. He committed the cardinal sin in the scientific world of falsifying his data to fit his theories. Yet artistically he remains an influential yet little known figure, whose engravings played a huge part in the development of Art Nouveau and continue to inspire artists to this day. His work deserves to be much better known and this book should be on the shelves of every artist, designer and visually literate person.
22 Comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)