Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 May 2013
This book was purchased for my wife who makes re-enactment cloths for my daughter. Many books just don't cover some of the tips and tricks outlined in this book.
The book was recommended to her by a college dress designer course manager. Combined with 'The Tudor Tailor' and Victorian Gentlemen's Tailor' she has produced some fantastic garments by teaching herself.
This book is part of a series and we will be adding the rest as funds permit.
A very useful addition to the re-enactors library on how to make period costume.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2009
The book is no. 3 in the Basics fashion design series published by ava books. The series is brilliant! The layout of the books is really easy to follow, use of helpful 'tip' boxes, clear chapters and lots of useful information, with examples and instructions that follow. Would definitely recommend the series!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
I have found all the Basics Fahion Design books amazing. They explain everything that you would need to know and also provide you with helpful contacts and web pages.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2010
As I've always been interested in learning how to create my own designs and clothes, I was genuinely pleased when I found this book, which is a great beginners' guide on the subject.
Construction is an essential stage in the creation of a garment, because it allows the 2D design and concept to be translated into the 3D final object; therefore, the right grasp of it is vital to the look and success of the final product. This book takes you step by step through the process of creating your own garment, by carefully and clearly explaining the main stages such as pattern cutting, sizing and grading, blocks and patterns, how to read a design drawing and translate it into blocks and patterns, dart manipulation, slash and spread, and so on. The numerous visual examples perfectly clarify the detailed instructions, so that it's easy to understand how to follow them properly.
What I've found really fascinating is the importance that has been given to the practical, but artistic side of the topic. For example, the whole first section of the book is dedicated to the different kinds of sleeves, collars and pockets which can be realised in order to allow you to successfully translate your ideal design into reality. Many useful tips are then given about fittings and how to alter a pattern by offering a series of badly fitted outfits and explaining how to correct them.
The second section of the book is dedicated to the tools and techniques used to construct and sew the garment either by hand or with the help of a machine. The types of seams and stitches are explored and explained in a very easy and clear way, along with the different techniques which need to be used when working with specific kinds of fabrics and surfaces (like lace or leather).
The whole final section looks at structure and finishing, two other and the book also provides a short history of supported and structured garments, which includes a fantastic section on corsetry.
Even though the instructions are explained in a straightforward way, the general tone of the book is friendly and emphasises that only practice leads to perfection.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
as a second year fashion and textiles student i find this book so useful when i'm pattern cutting and constructing garments, and i have read though it once and i continually check back to it to help me whilst sewing. i would recommend to anybody who is a keep pattern cutter and sewer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
I bought this book to learn more about Construction of pattern for fashion design.. But this book was an overview of everything about construction from embroidery to the use of toiles. And only a tiny bit of everything. So you don't learn much. The pages of construction illustrate a cutting with wrong pictures and it took me a long time before I realized that. The text is very splitted. You have to jump around the page, which makes it hard to read. if you want just to know little of construction as an overview and picture book it is ok. But if want to know more - buy another book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2010
Very interesting, well laid out and explicative. Would highly recommend to anyone interested in dressmaking, for business or pleasure.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
A really well researched, in depth book about the ins and outs of garment construction, looking at not only different pattern methods but also the treatment of different types of material and different finishing methods. Great for fashion students, or anyone wanting to swot up on their professional techniques.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
This is a very good overview on anything connected to garment construction. I have found it very useful in my own work as it provides an easy to read and clear range of methods and techniques which are aimed at a beginner's level for anyone who wants to know about fashion. Would highly recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
I love this book and would recommend to anyone who is interested in fashion! This book is simply one of the best on the market! I will keep this book forever! A much valued purchase!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)