Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
154
4.3 out of 5 stars
Candide et autres contes (Ldp Classiques)
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£3.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 26 November 2013
Candide, one of Voltaire's most applauded works, was written near the end of his life. It follows the journeys of young Candide as he is kicked out of the German palace where he grew up and is subsequently forced to traipse over much of the Western world in search for an answer to the eternal question 'Why do bad things happen to good people?' or 'Is there such a thing as a predestined fate?'. At the time it was absorbed as a hugely accomplished satirical farce at the views of many people at the time. Today it can still be read and enjoyed as that but also, most importantly, it can still be enjoyed as a supremely enjoyable story. Voltaire's writing is a juggernaut, unrelenting and awash with celerity. It is a classic for a reason and should be enjoyed by all. This version comes equipped with notes on almost anything you could wish to know pertaining to the story as well as an introduction and a few appendixes of Voltaire's other, related writings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
This is a masterpiece, and that's not just my opinion. This version was very good - I had copies before that I lost, so it was good to have and read it again. Even though Voltaire wrote this centuries ago, the concepts of life, how we live it, and how we relate to others, are still fresh and relevant today. In fact don't read my rubbish review, search on the internet and read about what a wonderful book this is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
Candide is a satire written by Voltaire who wished to ridicule ideas which were current at the time.
Candide lived in the castle of Baron Thunder-Ten-Tronckh and was tutored by Pangloss who taught metaphysico-theologo-cosmolonigology. Everything,according to Pangloss, was for the best in the best of all possible worlds. Misfortunes there had to be but these could always be explained away.
Candide listened attentatively to Pagloss but had his first of many misfortunes when he was booted out of the castle by the baron who noticed Candide's attentions to his daughter Cunegonde.
The story of the catastrophies which follw is lively and humerous both in French and English tranlation. It ends with the famous solution to life's problems, "We must cultivate our garden".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
They really don't write them like this anymore. I found it a gripping journey full of magical realism (before its time) from the start. The prose is replete with evocative imagery using obscure vocabulary. In addition to the compelling narrative and philosophical musings, the historic references and descriptions of national character traits lead me to further reading about countries I thought I knew quite well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
I enjoyed 'Candide' immensely. While I knew that Voltaire's works were considered part of the literary canon, and that he frequently retreated over the border to Switzerland to escape the wrath of the French authorities for his contentious publications, I had not actually read anything by him. I found the imagination, wit, edgy satire and pure absurdity in 'Candide' brilliant. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
One of the best books I've ever read. Voltaire is a legend both in France and the wider world. This is one of his most famous works and for good reason. The story is full of unexpected events and bizzare events. Each chapter is entertaining and gripping. This book is suited for mature readers as younger readers may not appreciate the historical content and satire.
W.M.Aslam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Quite a rollicking, though dark read. In common with many of the classics from previous centuries, it suffers a bit through the passage of time and can seem a bit clumsy and unsophisticated at times, the casual sexism is quite jarring, but interesting none the less and some of the tales stick with you. It's important to read the introduction of a lot of its meaning may pass you by.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
I had to return this because the slim book was bound in such a way that there was no real vertical margin as one turned the page. It could be read only with discomfort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
A review of the story of Candide and its meaning can be found elsewhere. This is classic Voltaire, a free scanned text that is more than suitable for reading and enjoying. Possibly one or two mistakes to the text from the scanning but more than adequate, As with most/all such free scans, shortcuts/links to chapters don't work but your reader should keep your place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
My favourite book of all time. I re-read from time to time to bring myself back to reality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse