Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2013
Michelin have long rated campsites in France. If it's in the current guide you know it will be of a good standard. But it's not simply done on price. Sites are selected across the budget range, from simple council-run ones upto deluxe ones. The guide is easy to use with good symbols, index and maps and the judgement is consistent. I have been using these guides for 40 years and they are reliable.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
A must have if you are going camping in France. As far as I can see it lists all the campsites there are, and gives brief details of each, such as cost, size, amenities, Michelin grading etc.
I can't understand why the previous reviewer says there are no maps, there are clear maps at the start of each regional chapter which have all the sites in the region listed.
If you are going camping in France, buy this book, and it's cheap too!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
This is a good guide to campsites in France, but the information is fairly clinical. There's no pictures, no real reviews as such, it's a list of campsites with information on the facilities. No more, no less. The information is very good, but I've always looked for a campsite in the book, and then gone on to look for more information on the internet. Well laid out, informative, but fairly clinical in its approach.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
just got back from a holiday in France with this book was really disappointed and didn't find it much use, i think you need to use it with the michlin map to be able to find them as all the references are to the map and with out it you can not locate them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
You know when you have too much information and not enough judgement and opinion? Well this is it. Every amenity at every campsite is listed but you have no way of knowing what the campsite is actually like e.g. the view, ambiance, privacy of pitches etc
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Difficult to extract info quickly. Will need to cross reference with a large map. But useful for giving small municipal sites
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Its a heavy old book and I had doubts about taking it on the bike (motorcycle) as space and weight are precious, however I'm really glad we did as it allowed us to pinpoint areas for the next leg of our trip, review all the campsites in the vicinity and home in on the one's that looked most viable. The info provided is simple and accurate without being overloaded with photos etc and you can have a pretty good idea what to expect before you get there, a particular plus point for us is that it allowed is to avoid the higher cost 'child/family friendly' sites with facilities that we don't need. All in all its up to the usual standard from Michelin guides/maps that we have come to trust over the years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
This is fine, although I'd prefer a bit more detail on the directions as to how to find each site. In busy places, there are numerous sites which don't feature so that's not always straightforward. Also, ignore the the number of pitch guides. It completely depends on what what facilities you want. We are a 30-something couple without kids, so having a pool and pizza place is of little interest to use, but higher star ratings are given. These sites tends to be bigger too, which usually means more noise at night and less clean toilet facilities due to the over usage. This type of information isn't detailed though in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
very good guide, though we did find some details missing, opening times etc. so we didn't know if sites were open till we got there.
More description would be useful as we found some sites that listed as basic but were beautiful
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
The book was helpful with its reviews and was accurate with the camp grounds we stayed at.
We would have like some up to date colour pictures of sites as we were often out of reach for Wifi and couldn't access the camp grounds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)