Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2015
This book is a real surprise. I'm a professional brewer with 15 years of experience in the industry. While some parts were pretty elementary to me, there was much that was new. I only wish it went into a little more detail. I felt that some of the paragraphs were too compressed and the author could have done better by elaborating a bit more. He does try to relief some of the more technical bits by inserting side bits that contain some light hearted hop trivia - which is fine - but I skipped most of that as I was reading this for technical bits!

All in all if you are interested in hops or beer this would be great book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Written with passion. Covers the agriculture, the food science, the brewing, the breeding, the tasting and the hop culture. Even contains a few detailed Brewing recipes. The eccentric characters in the industry and the hop heads really shine through. This is a fascinating and entertaining read. I started reading this for background because I'm growing Goldings in the garden, but I just couldn't put it down!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Excellent book for the beer lover. With the character of a beer so heavily dependent upon which hop is used it is great to have an authoritative work on this important subject. The author really knows his stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Well written, up to date treatise on the current world hop market as well as everything you wanted to know about hops and their use in brewing but didn't know to ask.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
A superb book for anyone with an interest in hops, with a fine balance struck between technical detail and readability.

Equally indispensable for both commercial and home brewers wishing to improve their knowledge of hop varieties, hop science and modern hopping techniques, and for lovers of hoppy beers who wish to learn a bit more about their favourite beverages.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
This serie of books is a great reference for the brewing industry and for those that are in the business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
excellent book many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
This book manages to straddle the line between education and entertainment perfectly. Loved the sections on the history of hops.Very useful whatever your level of brewing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
Stan Hieronymous has written an authoritive guide to hops. Although from the US, he has travelled the world to research this book. The story of hops and recent developments in selection and use are not only enlightening but also very entertaining. He has a great style. As ever, he shows that it is in the USA where innovation in brewing is really happening. Perhaps some of the new micro breweries in the UK will follow this lead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
VERY detailed an incredible distillation of hop information, history and use. Very very detailed and suitable for commercial and home brewers alike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)