Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

  • Whole
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
75
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2016
This is a must read book for anyone interested in health, and the relationship between diet and health. The author is a biochemist who has carried out over 40 years research in this area. His conclusions are consistent, coherent and well worth reading. the biochemistry is only mentioned briefly, and so does not get in the way of understanding his explanation. I would say that this is one of the most significant books in the area of nutrition. He can support all of his conclusions with extensive research.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
A brilliant analysis of today's mainstream thinking that fails to look at the complex whole of any system but tries to understand the real world by breaking the real problem into little bite sized pieces that we can understand and test easily. Whether this relates to the application to the "gold standard" of the double blind trial or the behaviour of people in general this fault is repeated. Why? Perhaps because it is easier to ignore the whole complex system and just study the bits that go to make up the whole. When we begin to use a multifactorial analysis and evaluation in medicine and science in general we will begin to return to real scientific study not the pseudo science that we see every day.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
I was expecting a book to follow on from the China Study but it mostly just explains how the mainstream do not follow these results and advise us accordingly. I thought it may set out the best way to achieve this new eating plan and advise on certain vitamin deficiencies like B12 and whether a supplement should be taken to counteract the problem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
This should be required reading for all those so called 'experts' in nutrition. Dr Campbells first book The china study changed by way of life. This book explains why we should change the established paradigm before our modern society collapses under the weight of our sick, pill popping, hospital filling people.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
This book is phenomenal, it shows how nutrition is key to understanding the science of the human body but does it in such a way that you don't have to have a science degree to make sense of the information. Well referenced and interesting it is such a good book. Warning, if you begin this book with a closed mind, you will finish it with an open one and a serious reevaluation of what you eat and how you live.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
I've already read The China Study written by this author. This book goes into more detail about the benefits of whole foods. I would recommend if you need more reason to start changing your lifestyle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
essential reading for everyone - but sadly the decisionmakers who can influence the dietry fashions are n ot going to shine a light on this work. But some will, so hopefully it will slowly take root in people's minds that food quality is the solution to many problems. And we should treat food and eating with more respect and less fashion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
If you read the China Study you will want to read this as well. If you didn't, buy and immerse yourself in the Chine Study first.
The first 1/3 of the book contains valuable information about nutrition. The remaining 2/3 are interesting but as a critique of how research, economic interests and media interact with each other and produce the information available to the general public. An excellent introduction to critical thinking.
(Unfortunately, like the majority of books now, although hardback the signatures of the book are folded but not stitched/sewn through the fold)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
A book i go back to many times -It looses a little by being a kindle read but it is sound information that makes you think! about the value of food that we eat-i am not a vegetarian or a complete Vegan but have always had issues with Dairy: gives me Migraine-Have been a Paid Cook all my Life and i am a good cook and yet i am still learning about food Nutrition---Our English Diet is not a good one. Yes rethinking the science of Nutrition is a Book we all need to READ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
How does one adequately review a work like this? It is written well enough to be both a textbook for Medical Professionals who might be openminded enough to read and study it, and a source of general information for the lay person, wishing to improve significantly their quality of life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)