Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2017
Sometimes a little muddled and starts using topics that haven't yet been introduced but excellent as a reference book if you already pretty much know what you're doing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
This is the standard reference book for Ruby. It covers the language and the standard library, from basics to in-depth reference. Well-written and -organised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
This is the best programming book I've ever read. Each chapter is well-structured and concentrates on language specifics, sparing the reader from revising concepts like object-orientation over and over again. But the best part is, it actually made me laugh.

Rather than being an expanded version of online documentation, this book takes a top-down approach to efficiently cover the bare essentials and get stuck in. Later chapters look at specific parts, such as regular expressions, in more detail.

While there is some repetition between chapters, I find this helps me to learn. However, the book does aim to be comprehensive, so expect some more esoteric content later on, including character encodings a large chunk of the language reference.

Improvements: Remove the language reference in favour of online chapters.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
It really needs to be two volumes. The language and the library. As it is the book is cumbersome and it would be nice to work between the two parts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Good but I would have preferred some test examples at the end of each chapter to see whether you have understood the section. Otherwise very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Great service and no product issues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
great does what is says on the cover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2016
Excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Probably the best introduction for a programming language that I've ever read (and I've read quite a few). Well worth buying a copy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)