Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£32.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2015
Definitely a good book, although it's not brilliant at walking you through how to put everything together from start to finish. DirectX is a confusing subject in and of itself, so it's recommend to have a strong understanding of programming as a bare minimum (also don't forget a brick wall to bang your head against... this is seriously hard stuff).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
I'm fairly new to C++ but still found this book great; a no nonsense guide to getting started with 3D graphics. It assumes no prior knowledge of gpu programming and takes the reader from the basics of device initialization up to more fancy Directx 11 features such as tessellation and direct compute. A basic knowledge of C++ is essential - though I've never worked with COM objects I got along just fine. It helps if your linear and vector algebra is up to scratch, but there are a couple of refresh chapters if you are rusty. There are nicely illustrated diagrams throughout the book to help visualize the effects of some of the algorithms. All the example code is well commented, clean and compiles successfully under the free version of Visual studio 2010 (Remember to get the microsoft windows sdk, it is not included in the free version).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Avoid the kindle version, buy the paperback. Content is great, easy to follow; uses the effects library that has been sidelined by Microsoft, but most of the content is relevant and all is well presented. However, the kindle version suffers from _severe_ formating issues ranging from overlapping lines and characters to typos in the code sections, poor spacing, and poor margin alignment (bullet points wandering all over the page...?!).
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
50% of the book covers much of the material in the author's book for Direct 3D9. However, Direct3D11 is so completely different to Direct3D9 that you really need the book. (For example, you have to use programmable shaders with Direct3D11 which was optional with Direct3D9.)
The reason I didn't give the book 5 stars is that the source code for the book uses the Microsoft D3DX library that is not available for Windows 8 and some tweaking is required to get the examples working. At the time the book was written, using D3DX was a reasonable approach so it's not really the author's fault.
However, there is still a lot in the book that does not require D3DX and the book explains the material really well. There's lots of exercises and the book comes with a CD. Bear in mind that it's not a simple subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
This is a very good book on Direct3D 11. I have used Direct3D 9 in the past and have been struggling for a while to understand how Direct3D 11 works. The 2 APIs are quite different and this book helped a lot. The author does a great job at explaining 3D concepts in a very clear manner. You should definitely buy it if you are new to Direct3D or if you have used another version of the API in the past!

Great job!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Guides through all new features of D3D11 with an emphasis on the most commonly used parts of the graphics pipeline.
Maintains an excellent balance of depth and completeness of explanation.
Highly recommended for programmers new to D3D11 and especially for amateurs in graphics who want to use the latest version of DirectX.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
I wanted a book specific on DX11 and I found the Mr Luna had a long history in DX books, reading the comment on the previous editions of his books I bought it and I reccomend it as well organized manual about DX11. It also covers some basic concepts related with Computer Graphic. It requires a basic knowledge of C++ but if you are familiar with COM, it's better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2015
It has everything and more, that you think you would need to make a real-time 3D graphics engine!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
I bought this product for my nephew who thinks it's absolutely fantastic. 10/10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
All images printed in B/W, lot of code but not to many high level explanation. Really teach more the programming API instead of the ideas behind that API.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)