Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Exclusive playlist - Elton John Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
36
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2012
There are some great things in this book - most of the best using the Regia Hand dyed effect yarns and the space dyed sock yarns. One could use other similar sock yarns though I am sure. I've taken the idea from the Hyacinth scarf and started on a blanket and ordered the yarn for the poppies stole. My daughter loves the striped scarves. However there are just as nice patterns in the booklet from Regia also designed by the same chaps.... Many of the ideas are not complicated but good use of yarns - though some will be very expensive, unless you have yarns in your stash some of the stoles and blankets are going to cost over £100 to make.

now a month later ...... makinng the poppies stole in the Regia Hand dye effect yarn, the yarn is a nightmare..... slippy and gets tangled all the time...
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2012
This is a beautifully produced book showing off not just the work of Kaffe Fassett and Brandon Mably but also gorgeous photographs of the things that inspire them - from nature, from pottery, from textiles. This is what I would term a coffee table book as it is wonderful just to look at the glorious photography and read about what inspires their design processes but often such books aren't really very practical with few if any patterns that you would really want to knit. This is what sets this book apart from the rest - it is full of some very doable ideas and patterns for both the beginner and the experienced knitter and encourages you to experiment and push your boundaries with the use of colour and texture. I am already on my second Hyacinth Scarf which is so easy, so quick to make but so effective using one 100g ball of Regia Stripe and one 20g ball of Rowan Kidsilk Haze. It is worth noting that the patterns are all for accessories such as scarves, stoles, throws, hats etc and not for actual garments.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Lovely patterns but much of the wool required discontinued and no substitute recommended on manufacturers website.Will have to go to wool shop and try to get alternatives but obviously will not end up with Kaffe Fassetts colour know how.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Really went for this book because of the authors, but it was even better than I expected. Great patterns from the easy to the more adventurous and really gorgeous photographs. It is one I keep going back to and there are several patterns I will definitely be trying out.
I can definitely recommend this book whether you have already bought any of Kaffe Fassett's and/or Brandon Mably's books or if this is your first one, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Cushions, throws and scarves; the simplest projects.
Stripes and more stripes. Often the main colour theme is produced by variegated yarn.
Not artistic, not thrilling or inspiring. 'Glorious knitting' was his best book, unfortunately the garments are very dated now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
I eagerly awaited this book and wasn't disappointed when it arrived .... Beautiful pictures , lovely stories behind the designs and well written patterns ..... So much warmth comes through on each page and you're literally inspired to knit with each page read .....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
as the book's subtitle says, inspiration. I probably won't knit any of the projects exactly as they are in the book but it gives you ideas and confidence to try your own creations and colour combinations. The only slightly disappointing thing is that all the patterns are for scarves, shawls, throws and cushions, no jumpers or cardigans. Lovely photography.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
I have found this book extremely useful as a source of ideas for colour knitting and well worth the Amazon price. Will have fun with its ideas when I start a new project!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Kaffe Fassett's brilliant use of pattern and colours runs through everything he does. I knit as well as quilt and enjoyed this book immensely. Some great patterns that would adapt to quilts too. They are the sort of patterns that don't date, though some of the styles may need adapting to today's fashions. However, retro is in so why not try them as they are? Probably not suitable for beginners. But, if you like them, give them a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
This has given me inspirations for patters for future projects even if I don't specifically use the patterns inside. Although I would have liked some more information on the best way to knit with multiple colours at the start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse