Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
23
4.9 out of 5 stars

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2009
This book follows the other two Epstein books, Knitting on the Edge and Knitting Over the Edge. It is a little more 'patterny' than the first two, in that they were more like an encyclopedia of small patterns for edgings and this one references the edgings to garments more, which may or may not be your taste. The instructions are well written but do require familiarity with knitting pattern terminology, although there is a key in the book. However, you then have to know how to do these techniques like yarn overs and knitting into back of st etc , so some knitting know-how is also assumed.
These are all lovely to look through and exciting to an experienced knitter. It is useful to have edgings all in one book and although quite big the book is a good format. If your are new to knitting it might still be lovely to look at but a bit challenging to work from, but start with the simple ones and READ the instructions, use the pictures to help you work out what you're supposed to be achieving, they are great, clear pics that really show the edges. Above all practise them before you try them on a garment so you don't get frustrated at your first attempt on a complete garment.
Inspiring to anyone though; recommended by an experienced knitter.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2007
The first book of this series, Knitting On the Edge, delivered. It showed how to get creative without having to become a full-fledged designer. The photos are wonderful and it gets the creative juices going. The second book, Knitting Over the Edge, was a tad disappointing - useful, but not up to the caliber of the first, filled mostly with clever ideas, but not ones that I'd actually use. Thus, I thought twice before puchasing the third book, Knitting Beyond the Edge. But this one is the best of the bunch. It's full of clever ideas for collars, necklines, cuffs, and closures - even shows how to make some frog closures. With this book, the plainest of yarns, and the simplest of patterns, anyone can produce an article of clothing that's absolutely spectacular. The cleverness of Nicky Epstein is truly something special.

There is one thing missing from this book - charted patterns. It would be so much easier to follow the more complex patterns if they'd been shown in charts. Even so, it's still worthy of a five-star rating. It's a must-have book for anyone who loves to knit and doesn't want to just follow patterns. It's full of ideas that could be used by anyone from the barest beginner to the well-seasoned knitter.
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Her books are always informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
good book and in good coqdition as described, received quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
I like advanced knitting techniques and tend to work in the modular way (putting various ideas together and adjust/altering patterns). Epstein's Trilogy (Knitting On/Over/Beyond the Edge) are a must-have for knitters with a taste for individuality, craft finesse and a need for a library of inspiring ideas. The layout is very clear, uncluttered and professional - yet very accessible. Each book is subdivided into topics and visual samples within chapters are presented in one colour-rage (e.g. green, orange, pink, etc.). There are variations on themes to help with practical application and each chapter is headed by a fairly useful sample bigger project the instructions to which are given at the rear of the book in careful detail.
These books are not suitable for the novice or occasional knitter as much experience is generally needed in a variety of knitting skills (cables, lace, intarsia, fair isle, etc.) and many samples are very work intensive - either because of the complexity of the pattern or because of extensive 'finishing off'. And yet, a novice with aspirations may find much inspiration and motivation for further development. And at under £10 including P&P very affordable and value for money.

One omission from the book which I missed badly - there is no indication for gauge for the collars and cuffs where it really would be necessary. I guess trial and error starting at DK with needle size 4mm...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2012
What a book. Seemingly endless variety of ways to lift a garment from being nice to being special. Great source of inspiration for those who like to design their own knits.
A good book to buy. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
well i have been looking for this book for a long time.had to save up.it was worth every penny.great layout.easy to follow instructions.its neat and packed with a huge range of ideas.sets off the imagination to be creative.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2012
Having taken a turning point in my life and achieving the opportunity to spend more time on crafts, I've been getting enthusiastic about changing patterns and developing my own designs. As such I discovered Nicky Epstein books: Knitting Over the Edge: The Second Essential Collection of Decorative Borders,Knitting on the Edge: The Essential Collection of Decorative Borders,Crocheting on the Edge: Ribs and Bobbles* Ruffles* Flora* Fringes* Points and Scallops, and was anxious to be able to get this book.

It has arrived and my first skim through it has my head in overload with ideas on how to use them in designs for myself and others. Some of the ideas are going to be challenging, and possibly this is not a book for the absolute beginner. However, for someone who is looking to embellish existing patterns, a shop bought item that you want to turn into something more individual, or design your own garments from the outset, I think this is an absolute must for your collection.

Am I biased - I guess I AM becoming something of a Nicky Epstein book stalker, however I am also very careful with my pennies, so if I'm buying them and keeping them, then they have purpose and value. Now I'm off to see how much I need to gather up to buy The Knit Hat Book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2017
Very imaginative knitting book, with lots of ideas for livening up your basic jumpers. I've used it to make a couple of sweaters more interesting, and am plotting to do some of the more "out-there" things that she suggests.

Had a quibble with a couple of the instruction sets that didn't entirely match the given pictures, but if you're thinking of altering your existing patterns you're probably able to work these out already.

Also includes some base patterns to practice with, though again you'll need to be able to do tension squares to make sure you're using the ideas at the right scale for your yarns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
This book, together with other Nicky Epstein books that I have recently seen have really inspired to me to be more ambitious in my knitting - a wonderful source of ideas!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)