Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
32
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 August 2017
Not sure why this gets such great reviews as it is a pretty disjointed out of context view of the Spring Framework.

There are other books with less ratings that give usage in the context of a working application which is extremely relevant to developers having to familiarise with code in the workplace who are looking to refresh their skills after a long time on other areas or with varying degrees of experience.

This book is not so easy to read as it lacks the continuity you would normally see in a working application. It is the kind of book predominant on here which appears to be prepared by an academic rather than someone teaching you a real world in-context view of the subject with explanations along the way which would be infinitely more useful to developers otherwise online help may be just as useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2016
Its a solid book, but unfortunately only has one chapter on Spring Boot as it had only just been released when the book came out. Really in this modern world of microservices and agile you want the entire book based on spring boot way of doing things and a legacy chapter or two at the end to cover the old xml / manual config ways of doing things.

That said this book really did help me get to grips with spring when I found myself thrown into a programmer role on massive digital transformation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2005
"Spring In Action" is a really good book, which adopt a different approach from other books like "Spring Live" (Matt Raible, Sourcebeat): while the latter is more practical and simple, "Spring in Action" is a complete reference manual that covers nearly every aspect of Spring. This doesn't mean it is complicate: every explanation is clear and there are a lot of code examples.
I particularly appreciated its well-planned table of contents: the first part explains clearly what "Inversion of Control" and AOP mean and how Spring makes them possible. The second part is about "Spring in the business layer", explaining how you can write services and Daos, and how you can simply implement transaction management and service remoting. Finally, the third part talks about the Web layer covering Spring MVC as well as other technologies and frameworks. Furthermore, chapter 11 covers application security using Acegi.
The style is always simple and enjoyable, and the length (about 400 pages) allows you to read it in a few days. Overall an excellent resource for any developer interested in using Spring in his project.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
It's OK!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2012
I started programming in Java about 8 months ago. I'm from a C# .Net background. I use Spring everyday on my current Java project at work. It is a very powerful product, which encourages programming to interfaces, and using dependency injection, and unit testing. I was a bit apprehensive in buying this book, mainly because the previous edition received better reviews, while this one seemed be slated by a few people. I asked a few people at work who have both versions, and was recommended to get the most recent version. I am still working through the book, but so far, it is a very easy read! I find it very understandable, coming from a different programming language background. I am a lot more productive in my work, and my code is lot cleaner. I give it 4 star because I haven't finished it yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Until i bought the book, i was reading information over the net, but no one explain how things work, only how it's done. One must be an warlock to guess how things work.
while reading the book, much light was made about the issues. Each chapter is clear and explains how and why things are done.
The book explains the Spring 3.0 framework, which is much more simpler that previous versions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
I'll start with my conclusion - this is simply the best introduction to the Spring Framework that's been published. Each subsequent edition is also a good guide to the best practices for working with the major release of Spring that the book covers, in this case version 4.0. That's quite important, as the Spring Framework rarely if ever removes or deprecates features, so it can be quite hard to know what the current "state of the art" way of working is from just looking at the API documentation. The focus on the current best practice is also a necessity for the books author, since the core framework is now very large and that's before you consider the large portfolio of different projects that also fall under the Spring umbrella. The book only touches on a couple of the other projects, Spring Boot in particular in this edition, since Boot is a great way to get new Spring applications up and running.

One thing I like a lot about Manning Publications is that not only do you get access to the electronic versions of this edition when you buy the book, but also the previous editions. This can be a great help if you find yourself working on projects that use Spring features that have been superseded in later versions and are no longer covered in the current edition of the book.

The actual writing is clear and concise. Walls covers a lot of ground in his succinct examples, and the resulting pace of the book means I read it from start to finish without getting bored. The structure of the book is excellent as well, avoiding the need to gloss over functionality that isn't covered until later. That's also a consequence of the modular structure of Spring itself, where everything builds on the core dependency injection / inversion of control container using similar principles.

So if you're a just getting started with Spring, or are a seasoned user of the framework looking to get a guide to the latest major version, then I can highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
This guy is a very irritating waffler. I wish he had put as much effort into the accuracy and completeness of detail as he has into his silly anecdotes. The information in the book is not really sufficient to actually use Spring from scratch but If you grab the code examples it provides a good enough grounding with a bit of Web hunting. Bottom line though is that the book is too wordy and the information is quite woolly in places. The section on security is particularly bad.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
I am quite new to Spring but I have attempted most of this book. The early chapters are relatively simple and they are a great introduction with the different ways to approach the subject. The examples are excellent, they clearly show the advantages and popular technologies that are associated with Spring.

But as the book progresses onto harder subjects the examples are still good but its clear that a lot of problems that will occur have been skipped over and some of the finer details are not explained. Its true that you couldn't write a book covering every problem that may occur but I'm sure the author would have encountered problems himself that he could have included, there are also a few misprints which can confuse you if not spotted.

Overall its a great learning tool as even when you hit problems, you learn many things when you solve them, its just whether you DO solve them.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Although an experienced Java and Web developer, I had minimum contact with Spring before getting this book. I had already read a number of pages from Springsource, but the lack of an "official" orientated learning path for annotated Spring 3.1 plus the immense amount of fragmentary information surrounding Spring put me off.
This book accomplished my initial objective: getting me on the right track, briefing me up on Spring technologies and paradigms without extending too much on the minute details of each aspect. It is a pleasant read, humorous and has good teaching value. Yet, one can ask for so much; it is also superficial, as it condenses the broad gamut of Spring framework in roughly 400 pages which has proven insufficient for other than basic examples - As Spring MVC is arguably the most popular of its components, I was expecting an in-to-depth approach but the chapter ended with the feeling of "wanting more".
Please note it is updated for Spring 3.0 but as we are in the middle of 3.2, a new revision is overdue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse