Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 23 March 2017
Excellent quality for a great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2016
Firery Stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2013
i bought this for my boyfriend he has finished it so i will have to buy him another book he loved it so much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2012
Probably the most accurate first hand account of fighting on the Eastern Front I have ever read, and belive me I had read a few
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2012
When Omar Bartov sought to explain the staying power of German infantry soldiers on the Eastern Front (Hitler's Army) he concluded that it was a thorough indoctrination in the most lethal aspects of Nazi ideology that provided the essential motivation. The author of the diaries on which this book is based, Hans Roth, supports the accuracy of Bartov's analysis in his own words. Roth was a thoroughly unpleasant character - an opinionated racist and a blindly loyal extremist. He worships his officers and is unable to recognize courage in soldiers other than those on his own side. He is still less able to consider them as even human. The limited introspection he is capable of degenerates immediately to maudlin sentimentality. His concern when he learns of the murder of civilians - from one of their murderers - is for the killer's mental state. He doesn't question its justification or the morality of it.

There is no doubt that he was an excellent soldier and that he saw himself as an admirable one. But one can fairly wonder if Roth, and those like him, were actually courageous as we understand the term. Was his behavior under fire and in hand to hand combat simply the result of the brutally intensive training for which the German army was infamous? Roth himself seems not to know how he lived through many of the encounters he describes which suggests that instinct and conditioned response played a large part in his survival.

This book doesn't suffer from the reinterpretations that many recent Wehrmacht memoirs exhibit because he didn't outlive the events he describes. We can be grateful for that.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2013
It very accurately follows in the first person, the treks and pain,anguishes of a Tank Support soldier. Many books of this sort painfully and badly try to recount detailed conversations. This book doesn't do that but every step made is real, and when he shelters from mortar fire in trenches it is easy to imagine the sharp brick dust pouring down the back of your neck.

I found the book through reference to the Russian city of Voronezh, which was probably justified like Stalingrad (now Volgograd) in being awarded hero status. A very bitter battle took place and civilian and troop casualties were very high. Only difference is that at Voronezh, no German Field Marshall and his army group were surrounded and effectively annihilated. This book doesn't spend much time on Voronezh but it doesn't make the book disappointing. I read it from front to back ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2015
At the moment I am reading German soldiers' accounts about their experiences on the Eastern Front.

After reading the reviews I decided to give this book a try. Unfortunately I found this book disappointing as it does not go into great detail of the events that he took part in. I understand it wasn't written as a novel because it is written by a soldier during the events he experienced, however I feel it skips over the details that would have made this account interesting. I find myself board and want to skip to the interesting bits but I persevere continue to be disappointed page after page. Perhaps the editors decided to leave out any graphic details, who knows.

I'd recommend avoiding this book.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2013
Chronicling his day to day experiences on the eastern front the author captures vividly the horrors of war and the misery of the average landser. A thoroughly recommend read.
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 September 2014
This is the diary (or perhaps notes for something more at a later stage) of a Panzerjäger on the Russian Front and plunges the reader straight into the horrors of war. It has not been revised or edited so the feelings of the frontline soldier shine through, what he thinks of the enemy, the people at home and Germany. This necessarily means that some reading may be a little unapalatable for modern taste, with remarks in support of the Nazi regime and condemnation of the Russians in line with the views of the time.

However, all this makes it more immediate than some post-war memoirs were the writer has had time to reflect on current political views and can quickly add that he was always against the Nazis, did not support the drive on Russia, etc etc. The writing takes you right to the frontline and you can hear the shells and feel the dirt and the cold as Roth and his comrades crouch in the ruins of Voronezh or try to recapture a Ukrainian village from the Russians.

The reason I give 4 and not 5 stars is the translation which appears to have been done by friends of the family who have a knowledge of German but not of military terminology, there are many mistakes ranging from misnaming Soviet vehicles to simply not translating what is not understood - B-Stelle remains simply B-position and not observation post. Constant use of the word Schweine (misspelt) to describe the Russians becomes wearing as do the typos (these may be due to reformatting for Kindle - I don't know) which sometimes reduce a serious passage to a comic one with bizarre imagery. Many phrases are translated literally where there is a perfectly good English equivalent which would help the story along.

However, if you can get through the clunky, amateur translation, and have an interest in the Eastern Front, the book is well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2011
Content-wise there is nothing more to add to the previous reviews, which say it all. Indeed, this account, or rather diary, allows the reader to enter into the mindset of the average German soldier fighting in the East and, through his eyes, to experience the brutality that went along with this particular theatre of war. Lately, quite a number of firsthand accounts have beeen published in Germany but, unfortunately, too few are available in English and some are written from nowadays' point of view. A wartime diary, however, is free from the regret, guilt and political correctness, which most veterans feel today and tend to obscure the events which happened over 65 years ago.
Surely it must have been a difficult task to translate a handwritten manuscript. If you are not overly familiar with proper military terms in German and experience problems with "oldschool" German handwriting, it is inevitable to make some mistakes. These may be irrelevant at times (not every German noun necessarily ends in "n") but others change the original meeaning: ...the German soldier [...] fights for the great goat (der groß Ziege) [sic!]", p. 38. It shouldn't read "die große Ziege" either but rather "die großen Siege", meaning "great victories". Perhaps I am being a bit picky here but I believe this book to be too important a source to have its content marred by silly mistranslations. This, however, occurs only in some places and shouldn't keep anybody from buying this truly remarkable eyewitness account.
If you are interested in reading more German accounts translated into English, then I recommend the following books:

Blood Red Snow by Günther K. Koschorrek*****
In Deadly Combat by Gottlob Herbert Biedermann*****
Soldat - reflections of a German soldier by Siegfried Knappe****(*)
At Leningrad's Gates by William Lubbeck****
Panzer Commander by Hans von Luck****

Two books that have been reviewed controversially but are interesting nevertheless:
Sniper on the Eastern Front. The memoirs of Sepp Allerberger
The Forgotten Soldier by Guy Sayer

If you are familiar with the German language, you shouln't miss:
Zwischen Nichts und Niemandsland by Hans Jürgen Hartmann
Saat in den Sturm by Herbert Brunegger
Die Hölle von Tscherkassy by Anton Meiser
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)