Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 31 January 2011
The pomodoro technique enthusiasts will make a great point by telling you that it's very simple to just start using it right away - all you need is some paper, a pencil and a timer of some sort (with an alarm). That is true - but before getting there, first of all you need to make sure that the technique is right for you. And if it is right, you need a good level of enthusiasm to keep you motivated to put the effort into using it, before it becomes part of your daily routine.

That's what this book does, and does it great - it's a fun, engaging, easy to understand presentation of the pomodoro technique. The book is short (you can read it all at once, like I did) yet comprehensive - it will give you all you need to start using the technique right away and be productive. Even more, it will fire you up - it will make you believe in your potential and in what you can achieve one pomodoro at a time.

I've read the book more than a year ago and I've been using the pomodoro technique, on a daily basis, ever since.

Finally, for the pomodoro beginners - keep an open mind when it comes to metrics. Staffan puts a lot of emphasis on measuring interruptions - me on the other hand, I'm more interested in other metrics to improve my productivity, such as number of completed pomodoros vs. voided pomodoros, productivity (no. of completed pomodoros) per day / day of week / week / month, number of pomodoros per period of day, etc. So pick the metrics that make YOU curious, and that help YOU improve your workflow and become more productive.

I recommend this book as being better than the original pomodoro book - it's a must read if you're considering trying the pomodoro technique.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
The pomodoro technique is simple and highly effective. I learnt it from this book and it has greatly improved my productivity. The basics of the technique are very simple: choose something to do, set a timer for 25 minutes, do that thing and nothing else until the timer goes off. When the timer goes off, stop what you are doing, take a break that doesn't involve any mental activity for a few minutes, repeat.

Of course there is more to it than that. Along with the more detailed mechanics there are notes on why you need it, how to plan your day and analyse your performance at the end of the day. How to deal with the many and varied interruptions both of our own making and of others that make this technique both initially difficult and rewarding as you cope with them. Finally how to adapt it to your own needs and how to use it when working with others, say if pair programming.

This book is short and easy to read. The top third of every page is taken up with one of Staffan's very nice hand drawn pictures and the text is simple and succinct. I've really enjoyed other books on the 'Pragmatic Bookshelf' such as 'Practices of an Agile Developer' and 'Ship It!', and this is a great addition.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
The Pomodoro Technique is very useful to me. It helps in my efficiency plus it creates happiness and positivity. It is uplifting to see that I am accomplishing a few different life goals everyday.

The Pomodoro Technique works like this:

When you wake up in the morning you list a lot of small task you wanted to accomplish for the day. You rank your to-do list according to priority.

In knocking out your to-do list, you set the kitchen timer for 25 minutes for your 1st task. Rest for 5 minutes; make coffee, social media, or try to absorb and visualise the big picture from the 1st task. Evaluate again quickly which task needed to be the next priority. Set the timer for 25 minutes for your next task and so on.

At night, you evaluate your progress. Think how to further improve your pomodoro process and analyse if you are meeting your life objectives.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Wasn't sure what to expect when I started reading this but, straight away, it had a massive impact on my ability o get stuff done. This has changed the way I work, forever!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
A very insightful read. I am already achieving more in less time! Worth every penny.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
Great book that really helps you to become more efficient in your daily life! The technique is also easy to learn and use. This is also a great help for your kids finishing their home work.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Read this book if you procrastinate and fail to get your work done. I particularly liked this book because it explains the technique very clearly, with specific examples of how the author is using the technique. The practical tasks were quick proof of how effective this technique is going to be for me. The language is simple and clear. It's not a long book, so you will get through it quickly and you can get on with the technique immediately. Since hearing about the Pomodoro Technique last week and reading the book I have been putting this technique to use and it has improved my productivity already. I am looking forward to Monday now! Just ordered my red tomato timer off amazon , I can't wait to get my hands on it. Great technique!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
The most important recommendation in the book is probably to integrate the Pomodoro Technique with Getting Things Done (GTD). Otherwise it is a nice read, lots of advice of different kind, but in order to really understand the depth of the Pomodoror Technique it is necessary to read the book by Cirillo.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
So helpful, it definately makes you look at areas of your life you are wasting too much time with!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2017
Was a present - recipient had asked for it and was pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)