Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 19 February 2011
I've had this book since July 2010, and it has quickly become my main "go to" book whenever I need to delve into something for any cycling history on the classics. You won't find anything in this book about the Tour de France, or any other stage race for that matter, as there are many books in circulation already. This book deals with only the single day classics, from the spring opening of the season, through to the end of season races. The book itself is well written, with an excellent full listing of all classic results. But what really sells it, in my opinion, are the many excellent photos, with some covering the spring classics from as early as 1892. Photos of a 21 year old Merckx, shots of Rik Van Looy, and the rest of some of the greatest riders of all time.

If you buy no other book on cycle racing, then make your choice to be this one, a must for ANY fan of the one day races...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
Perhaps the most desirable "coffee table book" there is. Fantastic pictures with interesting and informative text covering races which the media often overlook.
I am mow planning a cycling trip to Belgium - that's how inspiring it is!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
Just what I always wanted, written by folks who understand the one day classics, which are far superior to boring three week tours.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Brilliant! Fantastic pics and thoughtfull text, though the pics rightly get priority and speak for themselves. A must for any serious cycling fan of the 'true' (ie wet, cold & muddy) tests of the one day specialist.. A quality book. 'Hell of the North' indeed..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
A great present for my husband he loved it.

Good coffee table book with great photography's !.

Even I enjoyed flicking through this book and I'm not an cyclist.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
The title says it all. This is a super book worthy of repeated return time and time again. The photography was very well chosen and perfectly captures each race alongside super text and a well thought out style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2011
This year I went to see my first one day classic bike race, Paris Roubaix. It was amazing and a completely different atmosphere to the big stage races. the passion of the crowds and the pride of the history of this brutal race were tangible. Next year I'm off to Flanders for some more of the same. Having already bought the sister volume to this book Paris-Roubaix: A Journey Through Hell I knew what I'd get. It's a lovely volume tracing the history of all the classics and filled with great photos spanning the 100+ years that many have been running. It's more than a coffee table book. It's inspiring and a glorious record of the toughest races on earth. If the series continues to be expanded I'll be buying more. An excellent luxury for any fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
A must for any true cyclist,picture are superb,and very well written,fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Monumental work, great pictures, fantastic book for many evenings!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Excellent item and seller. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)