Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 March 2018
Very nice book. I own the first edition in hardcopy, and decided to buy this edition for Kindle. I would not say this is a how-to book, a manual, or a textbook. It is more of an insight of the author's evolution as an artist, and the way he executes his self expression through photography. He shows procedures and techniques by no means claiming they are the best or even good ones, but the ones which have worked for him. Some people may not like the style, as he mixes philosophy with photography. I read reviews which claim he is not straight forward, that he tends to deviate from the subject. However, I believe this is the right approach if you look at photography as a media of self expression rather than as a plain money making business. I really enjoyed and would recommend for what it is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2017
This is for the advanced amateurs once they have got the mechnical and electronic features of their camera sorted. A lot of B&W photography and some sections on colour photos. About mood, framing and lighting and making your photos into art. Read 'The 35mm Photographer's Handbook' first and do a few years of taking pictures and then come back to this...........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2013
Well I almost gave this 5 stars.
It is quite profound and well thought out.
The author covers in depth discussions about the true nature of photography
The text is very well written, and points well argued.
I would have liked more street photos and portraits.
That said, I really appreciate the work that went into this

Review update: I have read quite a lot of it now, and find the thought process and concepts very solid.
This is a serious work on the subject, and I might easily have rated it 5 stars, not 4.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2015
Out of all the Photography books that I have I'd be happy to say that in the few days I've had this particular book by Barnbaum it offers an insight and style of reading that is perfect. His use of English and clear and authoritative delivers an engaging read with clear advice. Maybe if you only ever buy one other book then this is the one you should have on your shelf to read cover to cover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2012
This is a book that must be read by all photographers .. if you are a bad photographer and don't know why this will help you move in the right direction .. if you are a good photographer it will help you understand why your good photos are so good and how to make the best of your abilities ..

I gave it 4/5 stars because it is not an easy read by any stretch of imagination, therefore it would have been nice to have a summary at the end of every chapter as a reminder of all these fantastic tips and ideas ..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2017
This book is a masterclass in understanding what makes a photo good and how to create meaning in the photo's you take. Turning them from photo's into art. If you want to be a serious photographer then there is no better book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2018
Nice photos but text is a bit heavy. Will probably be ok for someone at art college but for an ordinary chap interested in photography got a bit of a heavy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2015
Content for digital and film users in this edition. At times it does read like a teacher has written it but there is much good content in here and some wonderfully reproduced black and white images. Clue is in the title! It is not like reading Michael Freeman books which are very accessible and quick to use. I had to almost "study" this book, you go on a journey with this author.... guess I'm not really an "arty" type!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2013
It is the best book of all that is the well-read one. It is a deep reflection of the things that indeed matter in photography, and a honest explanation of the author's philosophy. This book is not a collection of knaks like others are, it goes directly to the essences of the art of photography. An indispensable reflection for those who want to take the step to serious photography.
It proposes you to stop shooting a lot and quickly hoping to be lucky an get some nice picture, and instead of that, to begin having control of the photographic process and shoot knowing what you will get.
Even though some chapters are dedicated to film and most of the time it talks about black&white, the book is equally useful for digital users, and both colour and B&W photography. (I shoot colour digital pictures).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2013
A fantastic book that has revolutionised my understanding of photography.

Written in a friendly and accessible way with the unmistakable passion of someone who loves their art it has been a real pleasure to read.

Even though I have completed it I always have a copy at hand to dip into as so often it helps underpin my thought process on a project.

Could not recommend highly enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)