Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£130.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2017
Great book with lots of pics. Especially like the extra props that come it. Shame their is not a full episode guide and synopsis. Some of my favourite episodes are not covered, where as some real duds are. I guess this is due to Carters editorial discretion. Great book though and better the the new edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2009
The first reviewer is spot on. This large hardback volume, whose correct subtitle is "Behind the Series, the Myths and the Movies", weighs almost 4lb (1.8kg) and has a small typeface for the main text. In its 248 pages there are a dozen photographs that span two pages and more than 700 smaller photographs. Many delightful pictures evoke memories of the series and include Mulder and Scully's kiss in I Want to Believe (IWTB). There are more than 40 pictures from IWTB and good coverage of this movie and those in front of and behind the camera.

In addition to two pages of index there are five pages of thumbnail images whose captions include details of the episode title, directors and first broadcast date for the episode. This is followed by a page listing the awards the series won during its nine years.

There are some typographical errors and a few words omitted. On page 209 the reference to Scully and Mulder kissing with baby William appears, incorrectly, in the text for season nine. This memorable scene appears in Existence, the last episode of season eight. Despite these slight blemishes this is a splendid book.

The details from behind the series reveal the many tens of thousands of hours of hard work and dedication that went into the episodes and the movies. Understanding the huge effort involved in the episodes of just one season can leave the reader feeling exhausted!

The last paragraph of the introduction by Frank Spotnitz says much about the X Files and this book: "The fact that people are still watching these episodes (and now writing about them) is a dream come true. I don't need to feel nostalgic about the past. I can simply turn on the television, just about anywhere in the world, and celebrate the achievement that The X-Files was, and is."

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
I'm so glad I got this amazing book. It is truely a treasure for any X File fan. The book entails great pictures of all season's and both movies with good sypnosis of each episodes. I love the fact that I got a 'I want to believe' poster too !!! The book brings back all those X File moments with Mulder & Scully, which I miss so much. X Files forever !!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2009
This is a super book because it's an official book that covers ALL seasons as well as both films. Includes lovely photographs, does have some minor errors as explained in the other reviews but despite this it's very good value for money and highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2008
This book is an absolute must have for any & all X- Files fans out there. It is a complete guide to the show, from the very first episode right through to the new film. Its packed with hundreds of full colour pictures and tells you everything you could possibly want to know about the show and its 15 year history. Also, hidden away in the books cover are 3 poster, Chris Carters hand written note cards & a copy of The Lone Gunmen newspaper. What are you waiting for ? Buy it now !
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
This book is amazing!!!! Full of so much infomation and facts about every episode and the 2 movies.It contains chats with Chris Carter and also has chats with many of the writers and producers. It conains so many photos. it also contains 2 envelopes at the front and back. One contains some storycards and a copy of The Lone Gunman and the second one contains the iconic I Want To Believe poster and 2 posters for each movie :)

This book was a great addition to my X Files collection as a huge fan i found out many things i didn't know and it contains lots of photos from the 9 seasons and 2 movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2009
This is one of the best books of the x files. If you love XF you must have it! It has an extraordinary quality in pictures and reviews from season 1 to 9, including both films. Also, the book includes some surprises, You won't regret it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
I bought this as a companion to the complete X Files dvd set and considering it came from america it still arrived before the deadline date. Very impressed with the book so far, brand new as described, lots of information, pictures and details of the series and films. Excellent!!! 5*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
My copy arrived with all the extras included, such as a copy of "The Lone Gunmen" newspaper. It has lots of fun info and pictures and would make a lively gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2010
This is the ultimate book for every X-Files fan.

There are hundreds of images that were never seen before from David Duchovny, Gillian Anderson, Chris Carter...the whole cast, production crew, and, of course, THE MONSTERS!

Here you can read a lot of stories from the backstage, that were never made public. The book guides you through the series, from the "Pilot" to "The Truth", explaning how the X-Files started and how they eventualy became the worldwide phenomenon that we all know. Plus a very big scoop on the two motion pictures: Fight the Future and I Want to Belive. And also some surprises on the inside.

I get delighted just by lookking at the cover.

A must-buy for those who BELIEVE.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here