Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2011
Desert wisdom (in the Christian tradition of the 4th-6th centuries) presented by an open-minded and warm-hearted Orthodox scholar.

The book was recommended by Archbishop Rowan Williams in his own book "Silence and Honey Cakes" and so I bought it.

This review of mine drops one star because Amazon, unfortunately, have formatted quite a bit of the the text in italic and the chapters are justified in centre-aligned (which makes reading the text less enjoyable than it should be.)
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
Loved this book. Great collection of Desert Sayings recorded with real accuracy and explained with keen insight by an impressive author. The best I've read on the subject of the early Church Mothers and Fathers. Very true, very helpful, very inspiring.
Kindle version downloaded better the scond time I installed it and I am glad to own the printed paperback version also! A true classic for any serious Christian and not just for Christians either but a worthy edition to any Library of Wisdom, spanning universal Truths that can be applid across a broad spectrum of Faiths.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
The World of the Desert Fathers and Mothers, although vastly different from our own, has many parallels. Like them we too must wrestle with our demons. We may not live in the barren wastes of Egypt and Syria, but we face similar temptations. Deacon John Chryssavgis's book offers a creative way to view our individual pilgrimages to the Kingdom. The lives of those holy men and women convey ways of looking at God's dealings with us in relation to the personal conflicts, doubts ans fears we all experience to-day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
An excellent introduction to the desert fathers, both spiritually and historically. Thoroughly recommended for anyone without much background looking to understand the desert fathers better. And with copious quotations from the 'Sayings' themselves.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
This is a superb classic or Orthodox spirituality. The reflections and lives of these holy monks is something we all need in the madness of modern life. Beautifully simple and yet full of profound depths.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
So far I've only read a little of this book, but enough to know I'll keep it for life and will read and re-read it. It came promptly and in top condition, thank you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
This is a classical must read for all Christians. Everyone needs or meets a desert sometimes and knowing why and what can be achieved there is valuable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
Excellent well written clear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Beautiful and informative felt I really knew them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)