Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
31
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£22.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2005
Knitting over the edge is not a pattern book. (Although it does have patterns for five finished pieces) It is a book filled to the brim with swatches for all those details you can add to other items.
For a long time now I have realised that the difference between a "nice" hand knitted item and a fabulous hand knitted item is in the finishing and the personal touches you can add.
So from rib patterns that look like bamboo, to sections on colour knitting that include a zebra strip pattern this is now a book I will never be without. It is a gorgeous book, full of fabulous colour swatches and stitch patterns.Whilst it might not all be to everyone's taste - (knitted balls, anyone?) this is most certainly one for your collection.
It is divinely inspirational - and I for one will never knit a boring 2x2rib again.
The only reason this book does not get Five Stars is that the techniques are not always explained in detail (and charting for the cables would have been proffered). But it is still a lovely book, and fantastic addition to anyones knitting library.
11 comment| 110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2008
If you haven't read books one or three of the series, this is a good book to help find your own creative juices. But it's the weakest of the three-book series. I had looked forward to this book after rejoicing in "Knitting Beyond the Edge", but found little that added to the first, and was quite disappointed. Had it been a stand-alone, it would have been great. As the middle of a three-book series, it leaves much to be desired. The designs simply were not up to the quality or cleverness of the others.

The first book, "Knitting Beyond the Edge", was an epiphany. It gave the sense of how the ordinary person could create something original and wonderful without knowing all the ins and outs of knitting or the refined techniques. The third of the series magnified the awareness of one's ability to create something new and special (with the help of Knitting Over or Beyond, of course). But, unfortunately, the second book wasn't up to the first or third.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2008
I love this book, I bought it last year and have since had a wonderful time using my favourite designer patterns but adding borders/edgings from this. The look is so different on each one, there's a selection of two colour edgings (simple fair isle style), knitted flowers leaves and cords to applique onto the edge, and borders instead of ribbing. The book has a picture of each design with instructions for working next to it. The pattern stitch is shown as (multiple of 6 sts plus 5) or (multiple of 5sts plus 3) etc making it easy to incorporate into any knitted item, or for repeating several times to provide squares for afghans, I've even used some as top edges for socks. For me the best thing about this book - I can use these designs on anything I want to, giving great individuality to my needlework.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
I like advanced knitting techniques and tend to work in the modular way (putting various ideas together and adjust/altering patterns). Epstein's Trilogy (Knitting On/Over/Beyond the Edge) are a must-have for knitters with a taste for individuality, craft finesse and a need for a library of inspiring ideas. The layout is very clear, uncluttered and professional - yet very accessible. Each book is subdivided into topics and visual samples within chapters are presented in one colour-rage (e.g. green, orange, pink, etc.). There are variations on themes to help with practical application and each chapter is headed by a fairly useful sample bigger project the instructions to which are given at the rear of the book in careful detail.
These books are not suitable for the novice or occasional knitter as much experience is generally needed in a variety of knitting skills (cables, lace, intarsia, fair isle, etc.) and many samples are very work intensive - either because of the complexity of the pattern or because of extensive 'finishing off'. And yet, a novice with aspirations may find much inspiration and motivation for further development. And at under £10 including P&P very affordable and value for money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 February 2010
As an experienced knitter of more years than I care to admit to, I'm always on the lookout for that "something different", and having read Nicky Epstein's first book of edgings until the print was nearly worn off the pages, I really looked forward to the arrival of this, her second outing in the world of Edgings. To say I was disapponted is actually an understatement. I was expecting something really exciting and innovative; what did I get? Pages and pages of fair-isle-type patterns, most of which can be found in various "stitch" pattern books; pages of not very interesting rib patterns with rather poor photographs.....brightly coloured yarn does not show these patterns well at all. The various knitted flowers and cords (which are then shaped into flowers etc), I found rather tedious, and not really what I would call "edging" in the true sense. This has actually put me off buying her book on knitting flowers

If you're looking for something different, then stick to her first book of edgings: "Knitting on the Edge" and give this one a miss.

I was so disappointed with this book that I returned it the following day for a refund, which Amazon happily gave me.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Always on the lookout for additions to my library for my business thought it would be a great buy. Surely was, but personally think for the more experienced knitter. Have tried the cabbage rose as an alternative for embellishment on a toy fairy I wasmaking - looked good. This is a book that I will come back to time after time and am sure I will find a use for most of the edgings,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 March 2010
This is the second book on edgings from the talented designer Nicky Epstein, the first being Knitting on the Edge: The Essential Collection of Decorative Borders. It takes its cue from the first, the style and layout are very similar, with a coffee table feel. There are 5 sections, unique ribs, cords, appliques and nouveau, and for each section, one full pattern is given. the shawl / cape, for which some detail is included on the front cover, is gorgeous!

But most of the book is devoted to the designs for edges. Each one gives the number of stitches it is worked over, easily enabling you to match that to an ordinary pattern. The complexity goes from very very easy, to some quite complex designs. The fact that some of these are actually remarkably simple shouldn't put people off - it's the idea and design which works. There are, for example, a number of designs built from attaching a knitted cord to a plain edge, in different shapes. It rather reminds me of one of the knitting magazines' series looking at one pattern knitted in 3 different wools - the difference in effect can be amazing.

There are a lot of really fun designs here - and I think this one really comes into it's own if you have children. My daughter was in raptures over the flower applique designs - perfect for a girly outfit! A number of the coloured ones will really appeal to those knitting for babies or toddler - there are ducks, hearts, butterflies....not to mention the fish with bubbles coming out. I'm tempted to do them in stripes for a "Finding Nemo" effect. And then there is the nouveau section. It's difficult to categorise these designs, but there are some gorgeous ones, particularly the cable edge which then goes over the edge to a knot.

Like the first edition, this book is about releasing your inner designer, and trying something new. But what really stands out for me in this second book, is the sense of fun in the designs. There is no shortage of inspiration, and I would highly recommend this. It's something that will last a lifetime.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is quite a cute book for anyone wanting to customise a garment. There's fringes, ruffles, button flaps and exotic loops and roses. There's also lots of multi colour designs to decorate the waist and cuffs of your sweater- little cats, hearts, shamrocks, bunnies...
But you'll also find numerous textured stitches which you probably already have in your collection.
At the back are patterns for a rose-decorated capelet, a most unusual scarf and a decorative jumper.
I would say this is an interesting browse for a knitter but not a must-have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Just lovely to look at and full of inspiring ideas. Looking forward to using some of them. Have already used the cabbage roses as a stand alone o make lovely corsages.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
again i had to save for this book...but its soooooo good its a keeper. easy to read and follow designs.sets the brain cogs in motion to get on designing some individual works of art.love the layout.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)