Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2017
I have read several books from Dan John and they all provide so much meaning and insight into the bigger picture of strength and conditioning and life!

His honest outlook and reflection through his decades of coaching and teaching provide so much information, and help other coaches to practically apply, as well as challenge their own approaches in order to improve.

I totally recommend this book to everyone - I hope you enjoy it as much as me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Let's face it, Dan John is arguably one of the most important minds in S&C in the last 40years! This book is packed full of all his best stuff!! Seriously if you enjoy any form of exercise you MUST have this book!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
Good book and pretty informative, albeit I could not get anything revolutionary out of it as far as my workouts are concerned; I've read the author's articles before (T-Nation) and that might be the reason for it. It still managed to give food for thought though - therefore I gave it four stars. The author has a witty sense of humor and it makes the reading more enjoyable compared to some other training books.

For someone looking new ideas for their training regimen this is the book to look for, if you can get a good deal for it (I paid a little too much).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2009
I loved this book - it's like having Dan along side you talking through his vast experience in the world of training and lifting.

This is a pleasure - i've been following Dan's advice and enjoying his writing since some of the early internet forums, so to have so much wit and wisdom at your fingertips is wonderful.

This is not a 'how to manual' in terms of technical instruction. As the title suggests, it's more the philosophy behind it. That said it contains lots of ideas and programmes you can do along with the why's behind them.

My impression is that we don't have such a culture of lifting and therefore don't have easy access to great coaches in the UK. Therefore Dan's words are probably even more essential this side of the pond.

Get the book! (Got mine through Dave Draper's site) It will teach you lots, make you laugh, and add another layer to your understanding, appreciation and importantly application to training.

Thanks Coach!
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2009
If you know Coach Dan John at all, then you will know that what he writes is worth reading. You might have seen the online download "From The Ground Up". This book, derived largely from his posts on Tnation and so on, is a compendium packed full of no-nonsense information. It is very well-written, every section has something you can implement, and his focus on old-fashioned hard work is just what we need as an antidote to much of modern so-called fitness writing. But more than this, the lessons in the book are I feel universal, and the subtitle is not at all pompous or pretentious. The lessons contained in this volume are applicable to so much of life. I had a copy rushed to me from the US, and cannot recommend it too highly. As a companion to Marty Gallagher's "Purposeful Primitive" and the books by Pavel Tsatsouline, this book is in good company. Add in Frank Forencich's "Play as if your life depends on it" and I think you are set. Together, they are all you really need to get informed, get motivated, and get stuck in. As for this book, it's probably a shame that a lot of people looking into training works will pass it by, settling instead for a generic weight training guide that will just be more of the same old nonsense that keeps getting recycled. Buy this one instead and find out about all the new old school stuff that works!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
If your stuck with machines, like biceps and chest pumps buy this book. This will change your life to the better, you will get stronger, faster and learn a lot more about traning and training ideas. The book is also very well written, easy and fun to read.

A must have for people who trains and for trainers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Dan's style of writing is humourous but at the same time very informative. He gives some great ideas for workouts, reiterates the principles that underpin a successful and long lifting career through emphasising nutrition, rest and solid consistent training.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2010
If you have any interest in exercise, fat loss, strength training or athletic performance at any level, you ought to read this. Dan's teachings are worth a lot more than the cover price, and this book has paid for itself many times over in my household.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Dan John is a man who is well respected in the field of weight lifting and body building. I have read lots on the topic of weightlifting and conditioning and John is often referenced. I was excited to get to grips with the methods of a man who has been alluded to in so much of what I draw influence from. I was disappointed.

The book itself is a collection of articles written for numerous publications. This means it has coherence and the structure of the Minotaur's lair. John repeats himself numerous times. You could eliminate around a quarter of the book just by editing out repetition. There is no direction to his book so instead of having a breakdown into the different areas, for example, philosophy, training principles, training practices and examples of his programs the reader is left with a spluttering, incoherent book. I am not sure what the point of the book was.

My second complaint with this book is that John clearly suppresses both his ability to write and his knowledge. I do not know if this is for fear of alienating his audience, but I do know that it leaves the impression that he does not have much to say. The problem is that this is obviously the opposite of the reality. The man makes subtle references to the classics, he alludes to programs he uses for college athletes but this is all skimmed over. He never gets to grips with what I wanted. The most testing thing about this book is that the style is so appallingly folksy and macho so as to be annoying. The great books in this field do not sink into this quagmire. Unfortunately Dan is knee deep.

My third and most important criticism is that this book has little to offer apart from telling you what you already know, again and again. His message is so simple: learn the power lifts, the Olympic lifts and the kettle bell lifts. Master them. He does not offer a reason why, nor a system for programming these lifts and he fails to provide his take on a program to reach his recommendation of mastery. John's problem is that he never tells you what to do to get to where you want to be. Let's say you want to be big, John says nothing. Let's say you want to be fast, John says nothing. And that is the essence of the book. A clearly knowledgeable and experienced man has created a book that will only sell because of the name. There is nothing of any substance.

In summary, do not buy this book. It annoys me to even remember the contents to write this review. If you want great training books start with Ripptoe's Starting Strength, Kubik's Dinosaur Training and McRobert's Beyond Brawn. You can get to an advanced level in a few years with the knowledge in these books. Save your money and more importantly your time and do not buy this book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
I just wish I had this book 20 years ago, amazing content, the only exercise book I reread on a regular basis, and I still learn new things from it. If you want to learn how to train yourself and others, just get this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)