Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 25 April 2001
I own two other books about Ted Bundy and several which mention him. But after buying this I now own probably the best Ted Bundy book available. This well presented and organised re-telling of Bundy's crimes and life is the closest insight we'll ever have, unless there is someone out there who has climbed into his mind! This is carefully and (it would appear) painstakingly researched and the authors use Bundy's own words rather than paraphrasing. Reading these very words are condeming enough to show Ted as the true character he really was. The authors even have official reports from various crime scenes and any doubts about how horrific they were or the rage involved is soon quoshed. This books answers any question you may have had and smooths out the facts which can often be wrongly related. If you buy this book it is guaranteed you will not be able to put it down!
0Comment| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2007
This is a 'must read' for anyone interested in true crime. The authors give a highly insightful, fully researched, balanced representation of the character of Ted Bundy and the atrocitites he carried out. Much of the book is a transcript of interviews with Bundy rather than the authors merely surmising what he may have thought or said. I cannot imagine a better book having been written on a serial killer.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2001
I have read this book 4 times and its amazing that some women came so close to being victims, especially Susan DaRonch (The only living witness), who must surely be the luckiest woman alive. Others were not so lucky, willing to help someone in need, they paid with their lives, while others were murdered as they slept. This book raises many questions, from what made Bundy the animal that he certainly was to how he could escape so easily from the authorities (twice !)to kill again, his last victim being 12 years old ! This is not a pleasant book to read, but it is difficult to put down, a very horrific story is excellently written and I highly recommend it !!
22 Comments| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2009
What the book lacks is a good confession from ted, probably because he only part admitted most of his crimes. He tried to sound like a third party telling you what might have happened if he had done it.
Gives as much information as possible regarding the life and crimes of Ted Bundy, they should have stoned him to death instead of giving him the chair.
Like most USA true crime books, it loses your interest during the trial and picking the jury sections but for anyone wanting to know what he did, this book will give you that info.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2016
Simply the best true crime book I have ever read and the only one you need on Bundy. Very easy reading, no sensationalism, no filler just the shocking truth. The most chilling aspect of the book are the taped interviews with Bundy as he suggests in third person how someone would go about abducting a female from her bedroom and why they would take the time to make the bed...in hospital corners. Police also learned from him why some of the corpses had freshly applied make up and shampooed hair...necrophilia was the only thing I believe Bundy was ashamed of.
Luck ran out for Bundy after the failed abduction of Carol Daronch [ hence the title of the book] he was identified by her and after waiving a jury trial was found guilty of kidnapping and sent to jail. Bundy escaped jail twice, the events that took place after his second escape ended in an explosion of violence that shocked and baffled America.
I thoroughly recommend this book it is a fascinating account of a true psychopath operating in the 20th century....but don't have nightmares.....ladies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2008
ted bundy is one of the most well known serial killers he changed history there are a number of books on this evil but fascinating of killers but this book is a must read
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2016
Great read, this book goes into so much detail, what a sicko Ted Bundy was, those poor girls he killed, I can't believe he got away with it for so long, and he died not admitting to those murders, how can the families have any closure, the world is a better place without this sicko, it's awful to read the gory details and very shocking, but it's a book you can't put down either
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2011
This is the best book about Ted Bundy that I've read.

It tells the story without falling into the "I met a monster" tabloid style that so many of the Bundy books choose. The authors also have a deeper understanding of psychology and discuss Bundy's mental disorders as well as his physical acts. Apart from the occasional slip, when the authors fall temporarily into a "my stomach churned when Ted said to me ... " style, it's superbly written. It could have done with having some photographs, but the text can stand up without them.

If you're planning to buy just one Bundy book, make it this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2015
Great book but littered with typos and sentences that are grammatically challenged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2014
A good read. just a pity they did not go fully into his psyche
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse