Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
27
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2014
The author David Craig claims in his blog that the tips in this book will probably save you the cost of the book many times over and in time most likely thousands of pounds. It sounds corny but having read the section on Estate Agents I think it is probably true!

We are just starting to view houses and in preparation I read through the section on Estate Agents first. I'm in business and like to think myself pretty wily when it comes to negotiation but this book flags up so many things to look out for and so many ways in which both buyers and sellers are ripped off that I think just about anyone would let a few slip by if they weren't forewarned. We've only had a few contacts so far through viewings but I've already seen some of the techniques described being applied.

Any prospective seller should read the (perfectly logical) explanation of why estate agents are not really interested in getting the highest price for the seller but shifting properties through their books as fast as possible, why estate agents will put far too high a valuation on a seller's house (only to back-track once they are signed up) and so on and so on. Amongst many other things, buyers need to be aware of the estate agent's "spider's web" and why your conveyancing solicitor and surveyor may not be acting in your best interests.

I don't think I can give a better recommendation for this book than to say that I believe that many people looking to move home really would save themselves thousands of pounds if they read this book BEFORE they put their houses up for sale or started viewing properties.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Knowing that you are being sold to is always a great advantage. Quite simply, this book will help you understand what is happening around you and make it less likely that you will be suckered into paying more for the things you want. Unless you want to be the ignorant victim of sales techniques, buy this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
Buy the book, save money or at least know when you are being manipulated and know how to counteract the tricks of salespeople. The first two chapters on buying a house or a car are very illuminating. The succeeding chapters on general selling techniques are useful if only to be able to spot standard techniques. The chapters on timeshares are probably a bit dated now but still interesting and the back end of the book gets a bit technical and draws on the author's earlier occupation as a sales techniques trainer.

But, all in all, a very useful book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
I've really enjoyed reading David Craig's books across the years and this was no exception. Whilst my personal preference is for the big picture books such as Squandered this is an excellent introduction to how to avoid the worst excesses of "rip off Britain". I find it hard to believe that anybody who read this book would not be able save multiples of the cover price in terms of more educated spending decisions. I would also thoroughly recommend the author's eye opening snouts in the trough blog.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
This book is an eye opener. Intuitively you know that salespeople use these techniques, but sometimes it's hard to respond appropriately. This book gives you the inside track, so you can more easily counter the patter they give you.

The book is easy to read and understand, and is well worth the tenner or so. It is well presented and as Mr Craig says on his website, will probably save you more than you spend.

It is a good investment - Do Buy It
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
If only I had bought this before my string of new cars I would be thousands richer.

Just reading some of the tricks and tips makes you more savvy to these salesman tricks. I'm a tough cookie when it comes to negotiation, but there would be a couple of these that I reckon may have made it past me.

Definite read if you're moving house or buying a car. You won't get stung with the £4 kindle price on this. A worthy investment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Interesting books which is worth a read. This turns on its head the notion that it is possible to complete an easy straightforward purchase when a salesman is involved because they will take your approach as licence to maximise their commission rather than returning your gesture of openness and good faith. Probably essential reading before anyone trying to buy a new or used car sets foot in a dealer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
I am on the third chapter and have already learned how to save thousands of pounds.

Even if you are just about to change your car at a main dealer you need to read the chapter on car buying to learn the dealer's tricks awaiting you.

Be forewarned - this book is invaluable!

It is an easy read....and a very rewarding one too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Pretty good for the sections on house buying/selling and car buying, but I didn't find much value in the rest.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
An easy read by an author with an axe to grind., but one you will find yourself nodding along with in agreement as you read.
Some of the points made are obvious but are well explained.

The chapters on estate agents and car salesmen are essential reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)