Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
11
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 19 December 2013
The fifth book to feature Superintendent Marc Craig and his squad is more of what I expected - an intriguing murder to keep you guessing (even when you think you have the answer you'll find you are doubting yourself), a good feel for Belfast and the surrounding area, and the company of characters that feel like old friends.

The Crime this time involves the murder of a young woman where method and location have startling similarities to a murder 30 years ago, at the height of The Troubles. There is also a side Story that is a lot closer to home for one of the characters.

There is reference to events from earlier in the series and appearances from at least one character from a previous story so it would be of benefit (although not essential) to read the other books first.

As with the previous books in the series the storytelling is top notch, making you want more when the book is over. There is insight into the lives of the squad members, sometimes little things, sometimes momentous, but even the little things feel like they matter.

I am looking forward to the next book and seeing where things go for Marc Craig and his team. One thing is certain - Catriona King is a writer who deserves to be up there with the best of the crime writers -I see a bright future ahead for her
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2017
A great read.read it in two days it was so good.Good police procedures with a human side to all the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Another brilliant book from Catriona King fast paced as usual. Love the way I can connect with the fact it's set in northern Ireland. Looming forward to the next one and to see what Marc Craig decides about his love life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
DCI Marco Craig is now a familiar character, and I feel I belong to his team, as I am bowled along the streets of Belfast for the fourth time in their company (for this is the fourth in the series, and I strongly recommend you read them in order). Such delightful people, who always ensure they are well fed and watered, and provide readers with endearing insights into their personal lives as they go about the serious business of increasingly complicated murder solutions. A soft thread of romance and innocence serves as a fitting foil in this one, where twisted minds, callous ambition and an insider plot will satisfy the appetite of the most demanding of detective thriller readers. Roll on the next one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 February 2014
I enjoyed this book as the characters are appealing and there are some good lines in it. The plot, the murder of a young girl appears to be a copy of a previous murder 30 years ago, is clever and has a few twists and turns but the perpetrator became obvious to me about half way through and it got frustrating that Marc and his team couldn't see it. As with many novels set in Northern Ireland this novel has it's origins in The Troubles and mirrors closely, as far as I can see, some of the dilemmas people faced in those times. This is a good read and deserves a wider audience so read it now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
I have read all nine of these books and EVERY ONE DESERVES A FIVE STAR REVIEW. I am cheating here as I haven't left a review for any of this series, and that is most remiss of me, so I am unashamedly cutting and pasting the same review. There are great characters, great plots, great atmosphere. Although these are stand alone stories I think the reader does benefit from reading them in sequence if possible. There are back references to previous stories and the characters do develop well and knowing their history does improve the readers rapport with the cast. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Catriona has written a series of excellent novels each of which has been excellent and The Broken Shore is no exception. She brings the local environment to life and she draws on her own professional experiences to good effect. The plot is sufficiently complex to satisfy any reader of crime novels and I hope that she secures more promotion for her excellent work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
Probably one of the best books I have read. The first book that has ever brought a tear to my eye. Buy it, and you will understand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Another brilliant book! Read it and enjoy, she has the capacity to make people and regions real. Another fast moving story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
very much loved this book having read the three previous books from this author looking forward to the next book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here