Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2014
Funny and enlightening account of a marvellous career. Clearly he has thought about the game for many years and not just played it. I enjoyed reading this mainly whilst travelling. However, it felt far too short overall and the footballing anecdotes were quite odd. Pippo Inzaghi comes across as frankly ridiculous and we do not get an insight into how a 'limited' player like that could have scored so many goals. Pirlo did not seem to reveal too much about the coaches he has played for; I guess because he is, of course still playing. Some of the nuance may well have been lost in the translation, this should be taken into account. He mocks a few friends and foes but does not really give a detailed analysis of their motivations or their strengths and weaknesses. Once he has finally hung up his boots maybe we will get more of an insight into his true feelings about teammates and opponents and his future intentions in the beautiful game....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
Very enjoyable read,the book has been superbly translated the language is very rich. This one doesn't follow a predictable pattern but shares enough of Pirlo's thoughts on key figures in his career to keep you turning the pages. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Disappointed with this book = too short. I expected more from one of the all time greatest footballers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
A book as magnificent as that beard. A true reflection of the life of God, or as he's known to others, Andrea Pirlo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Wow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
I enjoyed it, though it's debatable whether or not it's actually an autobiography. You don't really learn an awful lot about Andrea Pirlo as a person, and it's incredibly non-linear, as he plucks snippets of situations from all over his lifetime in no real order. I like his writing style regardless. It's a little over-the-top, like something Eric Cantona would probably write, and some sections read like the memoirs of a tortured artist. I found it interesting just how many clubs he flirted with and nearly signed for, and how his heart often lost the love for particular football clubs, including his boyhood club. The book lacks detail and direction, but it makes up for it by containing swagger, in plentiful proportion.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 April 2014
Short, sweet, insightful and an easy read. Really enjoyed this book due to Pirlo's honesty and insight into Italian football.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
A lovely insight into a class footballer and now it seems a class act off the pitch too. Some funny stories about other stars he has played with. Enjoyable enough that I read it in one sitting. Would recommend it to you too.... Unless you happen to be klass jan huntelaar then you might want to skip a chapter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Found the flow of words a bit baffling at times. Paints a fuller picture of Pirlo than i knew. One overriding factor for me is how human pirlo comes over. A consummate performer. Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)