Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
34
4.4 out of 5 stars
The Bluffer's Guide to Skiing (Bluffer's Guides)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 June 2017
Loved this it really tickled me and reminded me of a few people I know
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 October 2013
Where to ski, how to ski, what to wear (and not wear ~ a hat with ears or one sporting the name Adolph are definitely out ) How to impress your friends with a snow-reflected suntan and how to cope when you get too cold !!!

Mirth is in short supply in these awful dog days of the 21st century so the Bluffers guides are just too brilliant to ignore. They come in a handy size ~ just right for that pocket in the front of your new dazzling white puffer jacket (guaranteed to get you mown down as nobody can see you); a pocket that you could find no use for ~ mini flask not advisable

Any skier whether on the slopes or on a PC with simulation programmes will enjoy this jolly little volume and there really is something for everyone from choice of ski and baggage to recognising ski types ~ The Pig on Planks is a special favourite

The most enjoyable (and essential) piece of advice in the whole book comes in the Apres Ski section :

" Never urinate against a a lamp post in freezing conditions (unless someone is prepared to detach you)"

no to mention under Useful Bluffing Impedimenta :

"The flashiest avalanche transceiver you can find. This is a device that sends out a feeble signal after you have been buried. In most cases it would be quicker to wait for the snow to melt"

Love it !!

I am, truthfully, no likely to take up skiing at this ripe old age but this will never stop me enjoying this wonderfully witty series from the comfort of my armchair.

Long live bluffers everywhere
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
I read this on a coach going skiing and I had to stop as I was laughing out loud and annoying other people. It's superb - especially all the comments about other nationalities' habits on the slopes. Any skiier of whatever level will howl...and probably recognise themselves now and again. It's also pretty useful for a first-timer: along the way you do learn what all that ski jargon *really* means, so a fun presy to drop into a newbies' bag alongside the knee brace, helmet, bandages, Resolve sachets etc etc.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Just finished reading the Bluffers guide to Skiing and have to say it was a GREAT read. I now know the difference between snowboarders and skiers! Fantastically written and very funny. Would recommend to anyone who wants to know the ins and outs of skiing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Great little gift book for the show off skier (I am writing this as a long suffering snowboarder with a group of show off skiers who bang on about how much more skilled it is than snowboarding). This book pokes fun at the sport, the personalities of skiers and is a jolly good giggle
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Enjoyed the writing. As an ex-seasonnaire, recognised a lot of the scenarios and made me chuckle. Bit disappointed with the size of the book when it arrived though. It's only a small 100 pages. A half size book. So quite expensive for what you get.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Got this to read on my way to go skiing in Austria. People around me were laughing at little snippets I read aloud! Very funny. Every skier can identify with something in this book!! Hilarious!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 June 2015
Bought a whole bunch of these 'Bluffer's' books as Christmas filler. They all make for half decent reading and are actually generally quite light-hearted. Good fun present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2017
Bought as a Christmas present but naturally had a flick through - very funny but actually quite informative. Good read for beginners and advanced skiers alike. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Raised a few smiles, but not as good as I expected from the recommendations I had read. Worth reading if you have spare hour and nothing better to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)